New to Boilers

Old 11-19-13, 09:45 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New to Boilers

Hi All,

I have recently moved to the Philly, PA area and purchased a home built in the 1920s. It's my first time with a Boiler, I've had furnaces before, and I'm looking for some information.

We have a Weil Mclain Gas Boiler - it has 5 zones and mostly those old fashioned radiators, with one pipe in and another back out. We've had it serviced and checked the flute and it all looks in good shape.

In addition to any tidbits or general you have in owning a system like this, I do have some questions around maintenance and general operation. I can be handy at times, and while I want to stay away from repairing anything related to Gas - I do feel comfortable with maintenance.

Through YouTube, I've learned how to bleed the radiator - I worked from top of the house to the bottom. This worked great to bring a radiator back to life in a room that was cold - it leaked air for minutes.

But what I was wondering since that - do I need to now add more water to the system? How do I do that. The PSI reads 15 - I think it might have been 20 before I bleed the radiators. Is 15 too low?

When the guy came to service the furnace, he mentioned that the boiler should always keep the water at 180 - I don't see that as the case. The weather has fluctuated in the last few weeks to 30 one day, 60 the next - so we aren't always running the boiler. When we do - the temperature is often at 120. Is that normal?

Longer term - is it possible to reroute zones? For 2 of our 5 zones, they are on the main level, but they control both the main level and the 2nd story radiator. Which I keep winding up with a main level that is sweaty, and a 2nd story that is freezing. Could I in the future move one of those zones to the 2nd floor, and reroute the plumbing to accommodate? We have a basement and all the pipes are exposed (its not completely finished)

Does it always sound like running water turning on?