simple questions of a new heater owner

Old 12-10-13, 08:33 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
simple questions of a new heater owner

Hi All,

I recently bought a house which has a hot water heating system and old cast iron radiators. I'm new to radiators and had a few questions i hope someone could help me with. I tried asking the boiler service technician who came recently but he wasn't much help. I'm sorry there's so many :/, i'm just keen

a) Does having painted radiators reduce their efficiency marketably? Obviously there's some insulation in the paint but is it anything to worry about? Our painter said it's best to strip them and leave them bare.

b) I need to remove one of the radiators for repair (its come loose from the wall). To do this i assume i need to shut off the system, drain all the water from the system, turn off the valve to the individual radiator and then remove it from the plumbing. The radiator i need to remove is about 5-6' in length, how many people will this take to move?

c) Can you turn individual radiators off if you're not using the room? I've seen you tube videos talking about balancing a radiator system, backing off the upper story radiators. This would seem to say that if i turn a radiator off it's going to change the flow of my system, is this just a grey area you have to figure out for your individual system?

d) Should we remove our wooden radiator covers with metal grills to improve efficiency? My wife seems to like them but i feel like there should be nothing blocking the convection. Are they really an issue or are we splitting hairs?

e) Should i consider getting foil backed foam to place behind the radiators to reduce the heat that is lost to the outer wall?

f) Can you mix styles of radiators? Ours are old cast iron radiators but we have a new thin fin radiator available for the bathroom. Could this work? Would it just be a case of balancing the flow or will other issues arise?