Want to buy a new T stat

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-13, 04:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Want to buy a new T stat

I have 2 cheap azz T stats like this one. Sick of them not matching set temp and temp reading and over the years they seem to be pretty crappy. What do in need to look for the 24volts?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]22926[/ATTACH]
Specifications

Single Stage (1H/0C) Setpoint Thermostat
Beige
24 Volts
Sealed Mercury Cell
System Switch-(Heat Only)
Fan Switch-None
Profile-Vertical
Range 50-90 Degrees F
Terminals-4,5


Looking to replace with this or something similar

Honeywell RTH111B digital
[ATTACH=CONFIG]22927[/ATTACH]

Assembled Depth (in.) 1.25 in Assembled Height (in.) 3.5 in
Assembled Width (in.) 4.75 in Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover N
Baseboard Heater Thermostat No Certifications and Listings *No
Color Family Whites Control Type Lever
ENERGY STAR Certified No Manufacturer Warranty 1 year limited warranty
Number of HVAC Zones 1 Operation Type Mechanical
Product Depth (in.) 1.25 Product Height (ft.) 3.5
Product Width (in.) 4.75 Returnable 90-Day
Shape Rectangle Thermostat Type Heating and Cooling
Voltage (volts) 24 Voltage Rating 24 V


Will this work. Think it will but want to make sure. I had read in the past that no all digital stats will work.
I need nothing special This looks good and has good reviews

Thanks Clint
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-13, 05:41 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,932
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
That one has a/c too. Is that what you need? If not, get a Honeywell for heat only. I have a round one.
I had read in the past that no all digital stats will work.
Work where and with what? Why?
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-13, 06:28 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No I do not need AC.

I just thought I read somewhere that some of the T stats, especially programmable ones may not work with some boilers. IIRC it was some run on 24volts and some run on Millivolts

Round one like this

[ATTACH=CONFIG]22939[/ATTACH]

Wife prefers a digital one and I could not find one that was heat only. Will the one above work anyway and just not hook up the cooling part.

Current T stat seems to have gotten sensitive . I have the cover off and the Mercury switch sometimes seems to be very be touchy moving from on to off causing the boiler to sometimes only run for a minute or 2 and then shut off because it is no longer calling for heat. Does it a few times a night. Figured it was a cheapie to begin with so it's time to get a new one
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 12-13-13, 06:34 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,932
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
The one you pictured isn't digital, it's mechanical - not real good, in my opinion, worse than your old mercury 'stat. What about this one: T8775A1009 - Honeywell T8775A1009 - Round Non-Programmable, Heat Only, Digital Thermostat

Your mercury thermostat is obsolete - new ones with mercury are prohibited.
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-13, 06:35 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,034
Received 44 Votes on 39 Posts
Yes here is the newest one I believe from the home store...

Honeywell Digital Non-Programmable Thermostat-RTH111B at The Home Depot

As long as its not 120V you should be find...

Wire heat side only R/W....



 
  #6  
Old 12-13-13, 06:46 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the one in the link you posted is the same as the one on my original post. The top crappy one is the one I have now.
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-13, 06:51 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,932
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
the one in the link you posted is the same as the one on my original post.
I don't think so.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-13, 06:53 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,034
Received 44 Votes on 39 Posts
The one you linked the 111b is the older version I believe. The buttons are different..

I would have to check the rev# to be sure.........
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-13, 07:05 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see said the blind man.
Model # and SKU # are the same, but one is mechanical and one is digital. So I take it I need to look for a stat that is digital and 24 volts and I will be golden
 
  #10  
Old 12-13-13, 07:12 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,932
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
The Honeywell round mechanical looks different than the round digital 'stat. The digital 'stat has a digital temp display. You can order the one I posted - it is digital and heat only. It is not programmable, which is the type you were worried about. It is 24V.
 
  #11  
Old 12-13-13, 07:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank's gilmorrie it looks like just what I need. I would prefer to pick on up tomorrow if I can. Found out tonight someone hijacked our credit card #'s and charged up a bunch of stuff so our card is locked and we only have one. Online ordering is out for a few days at least Will have to break into the cash stash to get this.
 
  #12  
Old 12-14-13, 03:26 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 183
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I ended up getting the 111B from Home Depot. Install went as smooth as it should. Seem to be working well. We were discussing possible addition of air this summer or next so not a bad thing.
 
  #13  
Old 12-14-13, 04:00 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,932
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Seems to be working well.
Good. I knowed you could do it.

If and when it comes time to add central air, maybe you can use the same 'stat - particularly if there is a 4-conductor 'stat wire already going to the 'stat. Otherwise, maybe you can hook on a 4-conductor cable to the existing cable, with electrical tape, and pull it up that way.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: