Steam Heater Keeps Flooding

Old 12-20-13, 05:08 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Steam Heater Keeps Flooding

I have a steam heater that I only use for hot water as the house is heated by coal. Yesterday I came home and all the downstairs radiators were leaking. Went down the basement and the indicator gauge was completely filled with water on the furnace. After taking out 10 buckets of water I was able to get the water level back to normal. Problem is that water keeps going into the furnace unless I shut off the water supply in which case we don't have hot water. So, I need to figure out why it keeps adding water when it is not needed. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-13, 06:14 PM
I'm not an expert, but it looks like the domestic hot water coil is leaking into the boiler.

Also it seems extremely inefficient to heat your water with a steam boiler.

Old 12-20-13, 06:29 PM
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
I don't see any auto feed on the boiler so you must feed it by hand when needed from the cold water inlet. With the cold water off you're boiler is flooding ?

Two things can cause this.
1) Water is leaking by the cold water shutoff.
2) As was mentioned and the most likely is your hot water coil sprung a leak. As the cold water feeds the coil it enters the boiler.

To test this shut the cold water off to the coil before you go to bed. If the water level is fine in the morning you have found the culprit.

New coil or separate hot water heater.

Old 12-21-13, 06:47 AM
Thanks for the replies. I replaced the cold water shut off valve that I use to manually fill with last night and nothing changed, so it's not that. When I turn the valve off for the water to enter the boiler, the water level still rises. The only way to maintain the water level is to turn off the water completely to the house. So, this means it is the coil right?