Radiant Heating / Hot water question

Old 01-02-14, 04:18 PM
Radiant Heating / Hot water question

I have an oil fired Buderus Logano G115 with a Buderus Logalux LT. It is a closed loop radiant heating system. The problem is the hot water side, I cannot seem to adjust the temperature down below 170 at the tap. I have adjusted the Honeywell Sparcomix valve all the way to the cold side with no noticeable changes. My boiler pressure is 15psi and my return water temp is at 80 degrees. I am at a loss, but know that this water is way to hot.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-14, 01:02 AM
The Sparcomix is defective. Maybe you can rebuild it or maybe it needs to be completely replaced. Check first to see if the cold water supply to the Sparcomix is turned on.

Old 01-03-14, 02:13 AM
That is what I was thinking, as I am new to these radiant systems. I am confused as to the cold water supply, on this closed loop system it seems to be the return water from the heating loop is being used for the "cold" side of the sparcomax. Is this the norm on these systems?

Old 01-03-14, 05:53 AM
NJT
Hi James, I want to be sure that we're all on the same page here...

I cannot seem to adjust the temperature down below 170 at the tap.
I think you are talking about your DOMESTIC hot water tap here?

If so, I need to ask you what the SOURCE of your domestic hot water is. Does you DOMESTIC hot water come from the boiler itself, INDIRECTLY via boiler pipes connected to a water heater?

Or do you have a completely separate stand-alone water heater with NO CONNECTION to the boiler?

It is a closed loop radiant heating system
"Radiant" can have slightly different meanings... the term is somewhat ambiguous.

Are you describing a system where the heat tubing is under the floors?

Or do you mean that you have hot water baseboards or radiators in the home?

my return water temp is at 80 degrees.
Is this a temperature you are reading on a gauge on the boiler piping?