Suntec pump pressure?

Old 01-05-14, 09:19 AM
Suntec pump pressure?

I have a Burnham PV74WBT boiler with a Becket AFG motor. The pump, a Suntec A2AV-7116, seems to be leaking around the shaft. It seems to be sucking the fuel oil into the motor/fan area and dripping out the bottom of the motor housing. Is this a common problem? I ordered a pump and plan on replacing it, but my question is: How do I know what pressure the pump should be set at? I'm assuming the new pump will be at 100 psi. I think from my research that it needs to be at 140 psi, but am not sure about that. Also, if it does need to be 140 psi, how do I make that adjustment? I am an automatic transmission mechanic and have a Snap-on automotive style pressure gauge, can I use something like that? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-14, 09:52 AM
NJT
Let's start with the existing install...

Do you have one tube or TWO between the tank and the pump?

This question is important because it leads to the leaking seal.

The pumps have an INTERNAL BYPASS PLUG that MUST be REMOVED for use with one pipe systems. If this plug is not removed for one pipe, the internal pressure will blow out the seals. The plug must be installed for a two pipe system.

The new pump will come with the plug NOT installed and will be packed separately in the box.

How do I know what pressure the pump should be set at?
Need to check the specs for the boiler/burner combination. Older systems almost always 100 PSI. Yours 'proably' is... should be able to find boiler manual on web if you don't have.

Do you know what GPH nozzle is spec'd? And the BTUH INPUT rating of the boiler? Can deduce pump pressure from that.

if it does need to be 140 psi, how do I make that adjustment? ... have a Snap-on automotive style pressure gauge, can I use something like that?
There is a pressure adjustment screw on the upper side facing away from the boiler. There's a 'big ole nut' with a screw adjustment in the center.