Need help please!! Boiler

Old 01-06-14, 12:44 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help please!! Boiler

I'll start off by saying I'm a noob when it comes to boilers. Its taken awhile just to figure out some things but would like some help.

I have a 1983 Boilersmith boiler, heats 2 floors of radiators. Some rads need daily bleeding of air, all was good till this week.

A pipe burst that carried water in that system, now air is in there and can't bleed some rads, they suck air into themselves when bleeder opened. Tried with system on and off no difference.

This is what I know they sucked air in before the pipe burst but was only 2-3 that did that on 2nd floor, now all are doing it.

PSI when running says 2-5 PSI? than when off at zero.

Im trying to figure how it works so heres what I came up with and need help

Water comes in main supply line from town, reaches my Regulator than continues to flow to and expansion tank and the boiler itself. Image 1 is water going into regulator, image 2 is where it runs from reg to expansion tank and continues to image 3 where it enters boiler. 4 is the tridicator gauge 5 is the Pressure relief i believe, 6 is a water gauge of some sort.

Why are the rads sucking air in? low pressure not enough water? How do I raise pressure and water level if there no manual valve i can see. ANy info or help would be appreciated before I spend the money and call someone in. Thanks

Attached Images       
Old 01-06-14, 01:07 PM
T
Received 27 Votes on 21 Posts
Your rads are sucking air in because there is not enough pressure in your boiler. Is the water supply to your auto fill valve on? Make sure there are no shut off's before it that are closed. The regulator should be preset to keep ~12-15 PSI in the system. You can manually add water by lifting the level on top of the valve. Fill the boiler to about 15 PSI and bleed again. You must maintain the pressure while you bleed or you'll suck air back into the system.

Old 01-06-14, 02:20 PM
C