Outdoor wood boiler not heating up

Old 01-08-14, 06:04 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Outdoor wood boiler not heating up

Hi, I recently purchased a home equipped with a Wood Doctor outdoor wood boiler. I have spent the past month or so trying to figure out why the boiler is having difficulty heating up beyond 110 or so degrees. I am constantly feeding wood into the boiler but cannot get the boiler to heat beyond 110 or so. My controller is set at 140 and the limit controller is set at 210. I have to admit that I am not experienced with these things so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-14, 06:16 PM
are you getting any heat out to the load ?
It can't be sitting there eating wood and not be heating anything.

What kind of wood u using ?
When was it cut ?

Old 01-08-14, 06:30 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. The highest temperature I have been able to get to inside my house is 67-68 degrees and thats with the thermostat set at 73-74 degrees. I bought a dumptruck load of firewood from the Amish but the boiler was devouring the wood in no time flat. I believe it is oak. I did cut a couple of loads of Ash that seems to burn better but I am still having the issue.

Old 01-08-14, 06:31 PM
NJT
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Presume you are measuring the temperature at the boiler and not in the home?

Tell us a little more about the installation:

What size and type of piping is run to the home?

If it's uninsulated PEX buried in a trench, you may be heating the ground.

How is it tied into the home?

How big is the pump?

Old 01-08-14, 06:36 PM
Pics would be helpful, especially where the pipes interface with whatever is inside your house.

Old 01-09-14, 05:58 AM
Group Moderator
Received 184 Votes on 171 Posts
Does your heater have a electric blower to regulate the firebox/water temperature? If so is it working?