Zone 1 - Partial heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-14, 08:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Zone 1 - Partial heat

Hi all,
Thanks in advance for your help. Sorry tried to look through a bunch of previous posts, but couldn't find answer.
Have a Crown boiler with 2 zones (zone 1 downstairs / zone 2 upstairs). Both zone valves are Honeywell #40004850-001. Upstairs zone seems to work fine. When set downstairs thermostat for heat though, it's not getting up to temp. Checked and zone motor is turning and staying open, and checked that switch is being activated correctly (fully depressed on zone valve). When tried earlier it sent signal to boiler to fire up. It seems though that boiler doesn't stay lit to bring temp up all way (for example t-stat was set at 68 and we were at 59 this morning and raised to 75 and got up to 64).

Thoughts? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-14, 03:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Anyone??

Can anyone help with this?
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-14, 04:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 568
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check for air in zone. What is the temperature, pressure of the boiler ?
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-14, 06:17 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Do you own a multimeter and know how to use it?
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-14, 06:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Temp of boiler approx 185 showing PSI approx 0. When raised upstairs zone temp goes down to about 155 before firing and kicking back up to 185 or so. While running still showed 0 PSI.

NJ Trooper, got meter recently and not really used yet. But eager and willing...
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-14, 06:56 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
OK, well... based on the pressure information you just posted, you don't need the meter just yet.

Before anything else you have to determine why you are reading ZERO pressure in the system. This should absolutely NOT be the case.

When your system is COLD, you should read 12-15 PSI, and when HOT should be maybe 5-8 PSI higher.

FIRST is to determine if the pressure really is ZERO, or if the gauge is broken.

Instructions here for verifying the gauge accuracy:

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/bo...ure-gauge.html

NEXT, if you really DO have 0 PSI in the system, you have to determine why, and correct that situation. This will probably correct the no heat in the zone issue.

BUT....... after you get pressure in the system you will probably be writing back that your relief valve is spewing because your expansion tank is probably low on air charge.

SO, read this:

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/bo...sion-tank.html

There is step by step in there that explains exactly how to service the expansion tank.

This is the course you need to follow... and then when the pressure is right, the tank is right, we can continue and determine why you have a problem with the zone... IF you still do.
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-14, 07:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Will check out links.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-14, 09:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NJ Trooper just wanted to check ... even though upstairs zone is operating properly (only downstairs zone is having issue) the pressure gauge can still be operating correctly when showing ZERO whether boiler is firing or not?
 
  #9  
Old 01-21-14, 09:54 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Not sure what you are asking Joel...

Even with zero pressure it is still possible to have heat.

If the gauge is broken, MAYBE the pressure is OK, but you don't KNOW...

If the gauge is not broken, and you have zero, then you still have a problem.

Did I answer the question?
 
  #10  
Old 01-21-14, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes. I was just asking whether even if gauge is really working (i.e. really have ZERO pressure) if hot water could still be circulating to upstairs zone.
You answered - thanks.
 
  #11  
Old 01-22-14, 03:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Final update...
It ended up being a faulty water intake valve. Seemed kind of flukey that it only affected the downstairs zone - I would have thought the upstairs would have had issues first.
Anyway thanks for the help!
 
  #12  
Old 01-22-14, 03:24 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If you didn't do anything with the expansion tank (which you had perfect opportunity to do with boiler pressure already at zero) then remember us when your pressure relief valve starts spewing.

Glad yer back in bizz...

Good Luck!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: