Gas boiler running out of hot water

Old 01-28-14, 05:12 PM
Exclamation Gas boiler running out of hot water

Ok, I'm new to this but here is my situation. I bought a new house. I noticed one of the zones in my heating system was knocking and not heating up. The hot water at this point was seemingly limitless. I sought advice at the local hardware store and they suggested bleeding the zone to remove the air in the pipes. I followed the directions given and the heat was restored. About 4 days later I noticed the hot water was running out quickly. The hot water I do get is extremely hot, but it ran out too quickly. I returned to the hardware store and was given the suggestion to bleed the expansion tank. I followed those directions and it seemed to fix the problem, however, the problem returns about 4 days later. Now I find my self repeating this every 3-4 days. Obviously something is wrong with the boiler, but I am at a loss. Any suggestions? Or do I need to call in a professional. I am at a loss.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-14, 05:26 PM
Guessing is all I can do and it seems that your pressure may be low and you have a leak, bleeding the system and the tank and then you refilled the system bringing the pressure back up until it leaked out again.

Need to know pressure and temp of the system for starters. Others will ask for make and model of boiler along with clear, well lit pictures of the system. Post back with those and help should be on the way

Old 01-28-14, 05:56 PM
NJT
Upvotes Received: 1
I returned to the hardware store and was given the suggestion to bleed the expansion tank
Ummmm... be careful with hardware store advice. While well intentioned, and with all due respect to the aprons, they probably don't know WTH they are talking about... or just enough to be dangerous.

You may in fact need to service your expansion tank, as 'bleeding' it was probably a useless endeavor.