Low Boiler Flame

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-25-14, 06:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Low Boiler Flame

I have an American Standard Boiler. Boiler number 2GA-4E I have been having problems breaking couplers, so I got a new pump, all is well there, got great pressure, but i can not get a strong enough flame on it. it has been running since last night and is only up to 90 degrees. I adjusted the vents and both are almost closed, which is giving me the best flame but still not big enough. I also took out the burners cleaned each hole with a drill bit, wire brush, and blew it out with an airhose. Help ASAP please, i'm in buffalo and its cold!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-25-14, 08:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
About the only way to know if the flames are good is to measure the pressure on the outlet of the gas valve.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-14, 10:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Glenn,
Have you got gas or oil.
You said you changed the pump and then you removed burners and drilled out holes.
A little confused as to what you have.
Am I missing something.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-14, 11:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
its a gas boiler. national fuel just checked the pressure and it's running at 9 lbs. he said usually it should be between 7-8 so pressure is great. I didn't actually drill it i used a drill bit to clean out the burner, i was told there could be build up in the holes.
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-14, 12:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Glenn,
I think he meant inches.
A residential boiler will have about 3-5" w.c.to run normal.
There's roughly 28" w.c. per lb. of gas.
There's not much you can do improve an atmospheric burner to make a larger fire.
It's basically air and the natural gas being delivered. If you have a regulator you can increase the pressure a little but I wouldn't do too much without gauges.
You can remove the burner tubes and blow them out with an air hose and check your jets that deliver the gas.

If was fire was good to start with and now it's not, if it's nothing mechanical, my guess would be the gas tubes are getting clogged.

Good Luck,
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-14, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
that is what i used the drill bit for to clean the holes in the burner. could the piece where the thermal coupler screws into not be opening all the way? is that a part i can get at a home depot, are they cheap, or dont bother with that?
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-14, 12:58 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,809
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
I take it this is LP?

Possibly the regulator is no good or your low on propane...
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-14, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it is gas not propane.......
 
  #9  
Old 02-25-14, 01:04 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,809
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
Where did he test the gas pressure from?

9" W.C. is high if thats what his test read...
 
  #10  
Old 02-25-14, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
he tested it at the gas meter
 
  #11  
Old 02-25-14, 02:42 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Glen, Propane is gas too...

he tested it at the gas meter
Pressure needs to be tested at the gas valve.
 
  #12  
Old 02-25-14, 07:13 PM
rbeck's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,450
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If you don't have a manometer the next best thing is clock the natural gas meter.
go to this link Comfort Calc
Find the service tab and find verify gas boiler input. The easier is the alternate calculation at the bottom of the page.
The input should be very close to the boiler input on label.
 
  #13  
Old 02-26-14, 04:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clocking the meter is an absolute very first thing to do.
It will tell you the firing rate of the boiler.
Just make sure it's the only thing on when you do it.

My guess is the gas valve.
Maybe the main valve solenoid is not opening fully.

I think some GV's have screen on the inlet, perhaps there was some rust or something that has clogged it.

This is something that you might want to have a pro deal with, you could create some unsafe conditions, or at the very least be replacing parts that don't need to be replaced.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: