Running two zones with a L8148E and a RA832A

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-06-14, 12:40 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running two zones with a L8148E and a RA832A

I bought an older house with a gas, baseboard, two thermostat, two circulator system.(L8148E is the aquastat, RA83A is the relay)

The 8148 is wired to the burner, thermostat 1, and circulator 1. The RA832 is wired to thermostat 2 and circulator 2. When Zone 1 is satisfied, burner turns off, regardless if Zone 2 is happy or not.

How can I connect these so that the burner turns on to satisfy Zone 1 or Zone 2? I'm having a hard time finding a wiring diagram for this setup, though I know the L8148E can be wired for multi zone operation.

Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-06-14, 02:24 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,132
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts
hi lessthan –

I am far far lessthan an expert, LOL (really just a rank newbie). I follow the guys here that know there stuff just to see what I can pick up. I’m sure they will be along soon.

I was looking at figure 8 on page 8 here:

http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1287..._PROD_FILE.pdf

and I can’t see how a second pump can be hooked up using the 8148E. It just looks like anything you hook up to the 8148E will cause the burner to run – but also circulator 1 to run at the exact same time. Doesn’t seem like there is a way for the RA832A to use the 8148E to get the burner to run while it (the RA832A) gets circulator2 to run – without causing circulator 1 to run at the same time. And you can’t bypass the 8148E with the RA832A to control the burner and circulator 2 directly – can you LOL ?

The above is probably totally wrong? Probably the solution is simple and the pros will point to it.

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-14, 02:30 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I know the L8148E can be wired for multi zone operation.
Pretty much any aquastat can be wired for multi-zone, but whether or not you need external relays is the question.

In the case of the 8148, you DO need extra relays.

There's a couple ways you can go with this;

Install a SECOND RA832A (or equivalent) and wire the zone 1 pump and thermostat to it.

RA832A1066 - Honeywell RA832A1066 - 2 Zone 120V Switching Relay with Dpst switching

Run wires from the X X terminals on the old 832A to the X X terminals on the new 832A and then from there to the T T terminals of the aquastat.

In other words, the X X on both relays and the T T on the aquastat in parallel.

This setup will run the appropriate pump, and turn the boiler on when EITHER zone calls for heat.

OR

Purchase a Taco (or equivalent) zone switching panel and wire the thermostats and pumps to it, and the endswitch on the Taco panel to the T T terminals on the aquastat.

SR502-4 - Taco SR502-4 - 2 Zone Switching Relay

Basically, you can't keep Zone 1 on the 8148, it needs to be separated.

Decide which way you want to go and we'll help with the wiring.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-14, 02:43 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,145
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Hello. Welcome.

What you need is another relay 832a.
Take the circ and t stat out of the 8148 and hook to new 832 relay.
Then run xx from both relays to TT in the 8148...

May be the cheapest...

Or get a taco control and do away with both relays.

SR502-4 - Taco SR502-4 - 2 Zone Switching Relay
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-14, 02:45 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,145
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Sorry I dilly dallyed too much... Troop beat me to it...


[ yeah, great minds... I beat you THIS time, but you'll get me back, guaranteed! - NJT edit]
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-14, 02:57 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,959
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Less,
To keep it simple, every pump needs it' own relay or a relay panel which is the same setup for multiple zones.
Lawrosa,
The race may be to the swift, but slow & steady gets the girl. And remember, you can't rush perfection.
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-14, 02:27 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you guys are awesome. thank you. Now I need to decide if I want another relay box or the Taco to eliminate both. hmm....
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-14, 02:36 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The taco looks great. Planning on finishing the basement, so a 3 zone looks appealing. Do any of you have any problems with the old model of the Taco 3 zone vs. the new Taco 3 zone? theres a new old stock taco for $50 on ebay vs the newer model for $130..
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-14, 02:47 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Chris, if it truly is NEW old stock, for $50 I would grab it.

There was no problem with the older models, just that they were redesigned with more 'features'.
 
  #10  
Old 03-07-14, 02:58 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are a true gentlemen. Thank you for all the help!
 
  #11  
Old 03-07-14, 03:39 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Thanks Chris...

If you need any help wiring it up, let us know!
 
  #12  
Old 03-07-14, 03:44 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I believe your answers before cleared that up. Don't worry, I'll need plenty more help. I think its an undersized boiler and will likely need help figuring out how big of a boiler to replace it with and which are the best brands.
 
  #13  
Old 03-07-14, 04:41 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I think its an undersized boiler
What's the make/model and BTU rating of the boiler?

How many square feet is the home?

To be UNDERsized would be truly unusual !
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: