Steam vent help on mains.....

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-19-14, 11:35 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Steam vent help on mains.....

Doing a steam boiler for my buddy .. I removed the boiler tody.( took me a whooping 45 minutes...)

I need to remove this vent and replace. Is there a # that I should replace with? Its directly above the header..

Name:  0319141036-00.jpg
Views: 487
Size:  31.4 KB

Name:  0319141036-01.jpg
Views: 734
Size:  37.1 KB

Here is whats left... I assume I raise or lower the boiler to match return on hartford loop?

Name:  0319141037-00.jpg
Views: 723
Size:  33.2 KB

Dont ask how I go it into old red... Got $42 bucks for the boiler. Truck GVW is 4900. At scales truck weighed 4880...LOL

Name:  0319141047-00.jpg
Views: 440
Size:  49.9 KB

Name:  0319141047-01.jpg
Views: 436
Size:  50.5 KB


Last thing is for the water loop... I forgot how to get 180f water with a steam boiler...?? Mixing valve? separate aguastat? ( I guess I will look it up)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-19-14, 05:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
lawrosa,
A vent rite #35 or a Groton #2. If you can, raise it up 5 or 6" above the ell. The Hartford Loop goes 2" below the normal
water line. Is that all copper I see. Just make sure of your measurements on your near boiler piping.
Header 24" minimum above normal water line, equilizer line. If you use both steam tappings off the boiler into the header don't install supply mains between tees. Come off the header after the tees and before the equilizer.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-14, 05:51 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Thanks spot.... Umm I should have too more pics..

I will edit the photo in one minute to show more...
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-14, 06:08 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Red lines are the baseboard loop.. The green pipes are the steam/returns.

The green arrows are where it connects to the boiler...

Im not a steam guy and am just direct replacing this..

He wants a weil mclain...( Ill just follow the instructions..LOL...)


http://www.weil-mclain.com/en/assets...al_Series5.pdf



Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 336
Size:  40.0 KB
 
  #5  
Old 03-19-14, 06:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Weil McLain is a good boiler with good instructions. Even though he wants a drop in, for your sake and no headaches later at least follow the near boiler piping measurements. That's for your dry steam delivery to the system and the equilizer to keep the water in the boiler.
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-14, 06:29 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Well they gave me a Williamson boiler. I guess weil McClain bought them?

The boiler did not come with a relay internal next to the transformer. It probably would of been a wiring nightmare so I just installed a taco relay for simplicity for the hot water loop...



Name:  0322141651-00.jpg
Views: 455
Size:  41.3 KB

Name:  0322141651-01.jpg
Views: 411
Size:  33.3 KB

Name:  0322141651-02.jpg
Views: 461
Size:  36.3 KB
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-14, 10:18 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
And I never did get that vent out....FYI... Ill have to go back and try plan B.....
 
  #8  
Old 03-23-14, 07:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
lawrosa,
It looks like it found a home. Pipe wrench with a long pursuader.
Possible to wire brush that rust first and spray it with something like blaster or heat it first. Doesn't look like you've got anything to lose.
That's what's great about steam. You get a workout on every job.

Good Luck,
 
  #9  
Old 03-23-14, 08:13 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
wonder why the supply was 3"??? The return was 2 1/2". I had to remove the plug on the right and put it on the left side. I tapped into the drain valve for the hot water loop..

Yes the vent is not in a great position to get a wrench on it. Even so hard to push pull even with a breaker bar at above shoulder height..

My bursitis is flaring up this morning as well as my tennis elbows.. Basically my whole body hurts... too many years of turning wrenches wrong... If I could only start over in life... Ha ha..

Its not everyday you lug 500 lbs down into a basement...

Note: Its probably been about 15 yrs since I replaced a steam boiler.
 
  #10  
Old 03-23-14, 09:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
It's deffinetly a young man's game.
The larger the supply tapping for steam the better. That's why Weil McLain was the boiler of choice for me. You don't need that large a return for condensate.
I don't know how you ended up with a Williamson, I never used one but Weil McLain has dedicating tappings in the back of the boiler for an indirect water heater or a hot water loop.
As long as you permanently stay below the water line you'll be OK. If you're not low enough and start surging you'll get air bound in the loop. This is where your equilizer will come into play.

Listen to you it's like we have identical results and thoughts from life in the trenches.
It sounds like some mornings we would have to team up to tie our shoes.
 
  #11  
Old 03-24-14, 04:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 576
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know thats a drop in but I hate when I see steam piped this way......not even close to manufacturers specs.
 
  #12  
Old 03-24-14, 04:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 576
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's a before and after of the one i did last week. Wanted to go with a 2-1/2" header but the fittings weren't available. Still this is much better than what's required by the manufacturer.

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 404
Size:  34.7 KB
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 557
Size:  47.1 KB
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 647
Size:  39.0 KB
 
  #13  
Old 03-24-14, 06:06 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Hmmm.. Looks pretty good...

Are there two boilers there?

but I hate when I see steam piped this way......not even close to manufacturers specs.
IDK... Looked like it was piped as suggested... except that the equalizer is piped off the bull and not the run of the tee....

Is that what you saw?
 
  #14  
Old 03-26-14, 05:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 576
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yup two boilers. Exact same setup, i just cut all of the old copper out and repiped a true header. Drop header 4 feet above the water line. The morons who put the previous one as well as the one on the left basically piped in 2 headers and equalizers instead of doing it the right way.

I didn't mean to knock your work, I know its a drop in. But the copper and header work are not correct. I forget which manufacturer actually states in their literature that copper is unacceptable.
 
  #15  
Old 03-26-14, 07:25 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I didn't mean to knock your work, I know its a drop in. But the copper and header work are not correct. I forget which manufacturer actually states in their literature that copper is unacceptable.
No problem.. Im not a steam guy..I could have fixed it all but it was a friend and cost was a factor as I did it for free basically...

I know you see a lot of steam where you are.. We had steam in PL.. I was there 30 years..



I think I remember your dads old trucks were white with red letters on the side, but cant remember..

I went to school with the Lorengers.. maybe it was thier trucks..

I worked for Lombardo as a kid... Built most of franklin lakes mcmansions in the 80's
 
  #16  
Old 03-26-14, 10:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 576
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You know my dad? I don't remember him having red letters, but that could've been when he first started. He was out of paterson then carlstatd, now Lincoln park. I'm up in wanaque.
 
  #17  
Old 03-26-14, 11:24 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Yes I grew up in paterson...I lived in carlstadt too...LOL. Ended up in Pompton lakes..

Where did you go to school? Ha ha.. I probably know you!!!!!

I probably saw him at passiac supply (forgot the original name of it). Singnac supply, and it was ridgwood supply was the big one back in the day..

I did all those homes in franklin lakes up in the mountains as a kid... ( off Franklin ave? )They blew the whole mountain up to build those homes..

Upper saddle river and such. Service work all in paterson, passiac, littlefalls...etc...

Small world... Im 48 so I dont know your age bracket.....
 
  #18  
Old 03-26-14, 02:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 576
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thats so funny. I'm 27 now, worked with him during the summers from 13 on until i graduate from clifton high school. Then went to work for Tri-Tech Energy for 8 years, then pharmaceuticals (HVAC tech) for a year, then onto my own business. My sister in law lives in Pompton Lakes over on walnut street
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: