Hydrolevel 3200 questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-14, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hydrolevel 3200 questions

I am considering installing a Hydrostat 3200. My current boiler control is a Honeywell R8285D.
After reading the install instructions it's unclear to me as to how to wire in the boiler control.
Does the 3200 completely replace the old boiler control unit?
I would greatly appreciate any advice.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-14, 01:33 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Remind us again what the make/model of your boiler is?

If you have the 8285 control and want to install an 'integrated' aquastat, it means that you basically need to re-engineer and rewire the bulk of the control circuitry.

It's not going to be an easy 'plug and play' swap...
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-14, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hydrolevel 3200 questions

The boiler is a Smith GB100W with standing pilot ignition

I was afraid that you were going to say that.

Rewiring would be a challenge to say the least. I believe that another 24acv transformer would have to wired in.

Was wondering if anyone out there has done this?

Appreciate the quick response.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-14, 04:10 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
What is your motive for wanting to change? What do you want to accomplish?

Perhaps there's an easier way...
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-14, 04:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hydrolevel 3200 questions

My purpose is to upgrade the boiler to improve efficiency and lower costs.

The Hydrostat 3000 would be a simpler solution but it is no longer available.
 
  #6  
Old 04-15-14, 05:03 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Weren't you looking at adding ODR in earlier posts?

Which ignition system do you have? Figure 12, 13, or 14 ?

http://www.smithboiler.com/modules/l...?litFileID=901
 
  #7  
Old 04-15-14, 08:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hydrolevel 3200 questions

Yes --- I was interested in an ODR system, but a north facing masonry wall discouraged that.

The Hydrostat seems a good alternative.

Figure 14 is what my boiler has.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: