Considering a Hydronic Heating System in an old house

Old 04-22-14, 08:52 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Considering a Hydronic Heating System in an old house

Hello!

First post... allow me to introduce myself. I am an artist/engineer/physicist/fabricator. As an artist I have no money, as an engineer I think I can do anything, as a physicist I have big ideas, and as a fabricator I have a bunch of tools. None of those professions means that I know what I'm doing, however.

My fiancé and I just bought a 4-plex in Los Angeles. I've been working hard on it for the past few months after work and on the weekends. I've successfully swapped out the galvanized plumbing in 2 of the units for PEX, as well as some other piddly maintenance. The main house (where we'll eventually be living) is a huge mess. It needs updated electrical, plumbing, flooring, a redone bathroom and kitchen, etc. As you can imagine, after sinking a bunch of money on the down payment I don't have the tens of thousands it'll take to have it redone professionally. I'm hiring out the electrical work, because I'd rather not burn down my house. But, the rest of it I'm trying to do myself. We're almost finished with the demolition, but honestly that's the easy party. Now it's time to start putting things back together. A big priority is to get the bathroom usable. If we can get the bathroom running we can move in to the house and free up our other unit so we can start to rent it out.