What size oil line should I use?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-14, 03:52 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What size oil line should I use?

Setting up a 275 tank outside, the next step is removal of the 550 in ground tank.
I have a Tank removal contractor doing the removal.

The replacement tank is above the boiler and is about 65 feet away from the boiler.

I plan to use coated copper line single pipe from the top of the tank with a tiger loop.

Should I use 3/8 pipe or 1/2" pipe?

The burner has a 1.0 GPH nozzle

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-19-14, 04:00 PM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,533
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Here in Vermont, people with outdoor oil storage tanks have to burn kerosene instead of #2 heating oil because of the cold . . . . but you're in a much warmer climate. Still, the size of the line might be a function of your outdoor temperatures to deal with jelling.
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-14, 04:09 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply...

I should also add that the piping will be run along the garage wall, the heated wall of the house. It will then enter the house and run along the basement ceiling the remainder of the way to the boiler.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-14, 04:16 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
You certainly don't need 1/2" for that firing rate.

Most codes don't allow anything less than 3/8" for residential service.

Use the 3/8 and you'll be fine.

Remember, NO COMPRESSION FITTINGS! ONLY FLARE!
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-14, 05:23 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

I was trying to convince myself that 1/2 was necessary due to the longer run. Since the pro says 3/8 we go with 3/8"

I'm getting this inspected so I'm doing my best to follow the rules / code
I plan on putting a shut off at the tank and then replace the firematic at the boiler.
Should I filter the oil before the tiger loop? There is no good place to install filter in the garage. I currently have one on the in take to the the pump.

I assume the oil safety valve is best installed just as the line enters the garage.

Edit: Looks like the firematic has to go on the input to the Tiger loop. I see there are spin on filters that attach directly to the tiger loop as well I guess that answers the question.

Thoughts?
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-14, 06:35 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Using what type of tank?

Conventional steel with bottom feed? or Roth with top feed?

If top feed, you might have trouble getting the flow started the first time...
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-14, 06:41 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a conventional steel tank but I was thinking it would be better to feed from the top than the bottom to avoid the slug from the bottom of the tank.
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-14, 07:09 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I think you're better off with a 65' run to feed from the bottom... in your situation, the less 'lift' you have to perform, the better. You said the tank is above the burner, so gravity will help you if you feed from the bottom.

What 'slug' are you talking about? Do you mean sludge?

Is it a new tank?
 
  #9  
Old 05-19-14, 07:19 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes sludge is what I meant... my concern is that eventually there will be an issue with tank being outside and above ground. I assume it will accumulate more water from condensation and thus form sludge ... Unfounded ? If piping from the bottom I suppose I need a way to drain off the gunk and water that builds up.
I have never owned an oil tank that was above ground and outdoors. I've had them in door and they were bottom feed there was little concern about sludge with those installations.
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-14, 05:12 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 198
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
NJ code requires 3/8" id or 1/2" od tubing. What's the difference? The wall thickness.
 
  #11  
Old 05-20-14, 06:32 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its 3/8 OD soft copper tubing type L
Not all 3/8 is type L thickness
 
  #12  
Old 05-20-14, 06:44 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,959
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I thought all copper was measured OD. Iron pipe measured ID.
Am I mistaken?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: