SuperStor SSC35 Indirect HWH Circulator Location and 1" Coil Piping

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-01-14, 04:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
SuperStor SSC35 Indirect HWH Circulator Location and 1" Coil Piping

SSC35 drawings show the circulator mounted on the boiler supply hot side.
My current Bock indirect has the circulator mounted on the same side as the the expansion tank and air scoop, the return side. I'd like your opinion of the consequences of keeping the SSC35 circulator on the return side instead of the supply side?

The SSC35 calls for 1" pipe for the coil run. I can't easily convert from my present 3/4"coil piping setup. So I'd like to use the 1" coil piping up to the 3/4" Grunfos 15-42fr circulator and continue the 1" pipe after the circulator to the 3/4" in and out of the boiler. I'd like to know if this an acceptable approach?

Boiler is Weil McLain GV3 series 2 at about 108000 btu.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-14, 04:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It doesn't make a lot of difference. I've piped them both ways. The 3/4 might take an extra 30 seconds to heat up but it's not worth changing in my opinion.
It doesn't matter about the side it's on either. Grundfos pumps are a little better at pushing than pulling but it's a short loop. It'll be OK.
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-14, 04:59 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,809
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
Boiler is Weil McLain GV3 series 2 at about 108000 btu.

Well I have to read the specs, but the ssc I believe needs 40K btu min for full output..

So you have a 108K btu boiler. Then with reduced piping??? IDK.. May be a wash but I would need to dive in and do all the calculations...

Whats there now? Do you run out of hot water?
 
  #4  
Old 09-09-14, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correction: Boiler is GV4 series 3 with 88000 btu out.

Dburr9 I think the flow rate for 3/4 inch copper is 4.9gpm. That's much less than 1". May affect recovery time. The more I think about it the more important that is to me. I'd like 25 minute or so recovery.

Lawrosa, Currently 30gal Bock CT30 Indirect. It's coil setup is made for 3/4". It does an OK job with the hot water considering there are 4 people here.

Last Nov many here on the board chimed in to help address a leaking boiler PRV. (Thanks All) At that time the Bock was thought to possibly have a pinhole. Lawrosa suggested the contender to replace it. As it turned out there was no pinhole. But, I got a deal on a contender recently I could not pass up and I'd like to replace the 20 yr old Bock.

New Subject... I recently serviced the expansion tank. Then did boiler cold fill to 14psi @ 80F. I left it that way with boiler off and came back to it 8hrs latter. Gauge still read 14psi. Started the boiler and pressure went to 20psi at 180F. Now when the boiler is cold or hot the pressure stay at 19/20psi. I never noticed before but I thought when the boiler cools the pressure should go back to 14psi. What think? Thanks guys. (Boiler PSi Gauge Verified With Test Gauge)
 
  #5  
Old 09-09-14, 02:33 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Now when the boiler is cold or hot the pressure stay at 19/20psi
If the gauge doesn't change from cold to hot, there's something wrong with the gauge.

Flick it with your finger... tap tap ... bet it moves!
 
  #6  
Old 09-09-14, 04:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NJtrooper, I've tapped the gauge and nothing changes. I've also connected a test gauge and it confirms the 20psi. If I cold fill with PRV to 14psi the test gauge confirms the 14psi.

Thanks for chiming in on this.
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-14, 04:10 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
That's weird Doc.

The pressure HAS TO change from cold to hot! It can't not! That would be breaking physical laws.

Tell me where your expansion tank is piped into the system... and where the supply water is piped in also... relative to the pump location.

Better yet, are there pics of your system posted in another thread? Can you point to them, or if not, can you post some so we can see how it's piped?
 
  #8  
Old 09-10-14, 06:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Street fill valve at street pressure to BFP to PRV .

2014-09-10_2106 - Docfletcher's library

2014-09-10_2104 - Docfletcher's library

2014-09-10_2103 - Docfletcher's library

2014-09-10_2044 - Docfletcher's library

http://screencast.com/t/DGKAWDxB7Zex

http://screencast.com/t/gEEALMsE

The red handle valve on the right in the last photo is where I'm attaching the test gauge to.

It might change by 1psi but that's about it.
 

Last edited by docfletch; 09-10-14 at 08:50 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: