Questions about possible leaking oil tank. NJ

Old 09-13-14, 12:27 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Questions about possible leaking oil tank. NJ

I am told that you have posted valuable information about leaky oil tanks - I fear that I may have one. I am also a New Jersey resident and would be grateful for any advice.

How can I access your leaky oil tank posts?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-13-14, 12:38 PM
NJT
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Oh my... I am feeling for ya...

What makes you believe your tank is leaking?

Old 09-13-14, 01:30 PM
The house was converted from oil to gas by the previous owner about 50 years ago - I don't know if is leaking but would like to find out without notifying the State about the result if it is a leaker. I believe that once the State is notified you have only 18 months to remove it and remediate the soil which can be very expensive. If it is a leaker I want more time to solve the problem and hope that the State will re-establish the remediation assistance fund.

Old 09-13-14, 01:36 PM
Group Moderator
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
There are two threads running now with basically the same content. I don't believe Troop has seen this thread..... which is in the wrong place.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/we...est-leaks.html

Old 09-13-14, 01:55 PM
NJT
about 50 years ago
Say WHAT? You think they left it in the ground with oil still in it?

you have only 18 months to remove it and remediate the soil which can be very expensive
Not sure where you got the 18 month number from... but when mine leaked, it took them EIGHT YEARS to complete the remediation and the state was OK with that as long as the papers were all filed on time.

Here's a hint though...

NJ Supreme Court has ruled that the ground water is the property of the State of NJ.

Homeowner's insurance has to pay out on 3rd party liability insurance if a 3rd party can claim damages.

The STATE will be the 3rd party if the oil has contaminated ground water.