Mixed radiant/radiator zone wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-18-14, 07:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Mixed radiant/radiator zone wiring

Hi
I've been lurking on the site for a while, reading a lot and trying to learn what I can.

I little about my situation. My current house is a single pipe hydronic system, which had a second zone for a small sunroom which I am removing and tying into the main zone. In addition radiant pipe had been imbedded in the kitchen and bathroom floor for auxiliary (warm toes) which I'd like to run as a slave subzone which will only run when the main (now only) zone calls for heat.

Radiant will be a close tee setup with a small manifold, mixing valve, circ etc

So in summary I need a singlet tstat to make both circulators turn on/off simultaneously.

Equipment
1986 Burnham P205
L8148e aqua stat which the main tstat and circulator are connected to
AR 821t relay - has second tstat and circulator current ( which I want to rewire)
AT75a transformer

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-18-14, 07:42 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
Hello and welcome to the forums.....

Wait for others to chime in as I am not a wiring guru... I think you can just jump t stat wire from the 8148 to the argo 821 to get both circ to run on a call for heat...

Usually we would use ZR ZC connections in the aquastat and do away with the argo but your aquastat does not have these connections...
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-14, 05:25 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
You want to eliminate the second thermostat, is that correct?

You would need to be very careful jumping thermostat inputs together to be certain that they are 'in phase' and that the 24VAC transformers in the two controls don't end up 'in series' ...

It may be a better choice to JUMPER the thermostat inputs to the Argo and instead of constant AC supply to the Argo, to take the 120VAC supply from the C1/C2 circulator output of the 8148.

This way when the one circ runs it will power the Argo which will close and run because the T'stat inputs are jumpered.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-14, 07:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Yes I would like to eliminate the second thermostat.

If I understand correctly (always a long short), you are recommend jumping the T1/T2 inputs on the Argo.
Then pull 120VAC power from the C1/C2 on the 8148?
- for this step do I also leave the first circulator also connected to C1/C2?
- do I then disconnect all the old 2nd tstat wires? currently on T1/T2 & P/P on the Argo?

I know pictures will probably help, and i'll be getting some up soon

thanks
 

Last edited by NY Research; 09-19-14 at 08:37 AM.
  #5  
Old 09-19-14, 09:14 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
Yes... leave the other circ connected to C1/C2.

- do I then disconnect all the old 2nd tstat wires? currently on T1/T2 & P/P on the Argo?
" All " the old t'stat wires? Are there more than 2 wires on that t'stat?
 
  #6  
Old 09-19-14, 10:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Don't have the best pictures to look at right now, but the wire coming into the Argo has 4 wires, two go to the T/T and two to the P/P (trans 24v) location.

At the actually thermostat there are only 2 wires...is it possible these are spliced at the AT75a? I don't think they come from the 8148

I'll have to get a better look when I'm home later.
 
  #7  
Old 09-19-14, 03:25 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
Yes, we need good clear pics............... sounds strange to me.
 
  #8  
Old 09-22-14, 07:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
OK so I may have described the wire thing a bit wrong.

The tstat wire has 4 total wires. 2 are hooked up at the thermostat and to the T/T terminals. The other two are wired to the P/P terminals, and then wired together at the other end, closing the loop. This normal? should I just remove and jump the PP terminals as well?

One other last detail (I hope). There is a thin gauge wire (with 2 wires) hooked up to the 5/6 (Spare) terminals on the Argo and on the Z/B terminals on the 8148. Should these remain?

Thanks for all your help. I'm in the process of adding an additional radiant zone to the manifold I installed and want to sort the wiring out to test.

Thanks!
 
  #9  
Old 09-24-14, 01:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Any help on this last question?

thanks!
 
  #10  
Old 09-24-14, 02:21 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
I was hoping you would post pics......................
 
  #11  
Old 09-24-14, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  32.0 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  40.2 KB

I did say I was going to do that didn't I...finally got this to work. The current wiring for the Argo and 8148e.

Thanks again
 
  #12  
Old 09-24-14, 06:03 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
Rotated...........................



Name:  1234.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  18.5 KB

Name:  121234.jpg
Views: 60
Size:  21.1 KB
 
  #13  
Old 09-24-14, 07:35 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
The other two are wired to the P/P terminals, and then wired together at the other end, closing the loop.
Are you absolutely certain that they are 'wired together at the other end' ?

If so then I'm not sure what to tell you... the P/P terminals are the OUTPUT of the transformer secondary. If they are wired together that transformer in the Argo will be shorted out...

So please double check that. It just can't be!

This AT75 that you have there... what is that wired to?

Even more puzzling to me is that 'other' thermostat wire coming into the 8148, the one with the red wire connected to the terminal that has the blue wire on it. That is totally bizzare... do I see the white wire from that cable going to one of the T'stat terminals? It's hidden under the cable, can't see where it goes.

Further, there is a black wire on the Z terminal, where is that going?

Something VERY weird about the way that system is wired and unless I know exactly where all the wires go I'm VERY hesitant to give any recommendations. I don't want to be responsible for blowing up your controls.
 
  #14  
Old 09-24-14, 09:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Ok so one small mystery solver....they wires off they p/p terminals are NOT wired together (only looked like they were as they were under the tape together but not actually stripped)

As far as the "other tstat wire" coming into the 8148, the white wire goes currently to the Z terminal - this wire comes from the Argo 5/6 terminals.

Black wire on the z heads into the broiler to the burner controller

At75 wires head to the main tstat.

Hope that helps.
 
  #15  
Old 09-25-14, 02:26 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
they wires off they p/p terminals are NOT wired together (only looked like they were as they were under the tape together but not actually stripped)
OK, that's good news. Those wires aren't being used then. You can ignore them.

As far as the "other tstat wire" coming into the 8148, the white wire goes currently to the Z terminal - this wire comes from the Argo 5/6 terminals.
I now understand what these are for.

Black wire on the z heads into the broiler to the burner controller
It appears to be a 'common' wire for the valve.

At75 wires head to the main tstat.
This I still don't understand. There should be no need on that system for an extra transformer.

Can you trace the wires and describe what they are actually connected to?
 
  #16  
Old 09-25-14, 02:27 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Likes Received: 1
Have we asked if you own and know how to use a multimeter?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes