Main and branches pipe size question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-14, 07:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Main and branches pipe size question

My old water heating system is a one zone reverse return system. There is no branch. All pipes are 1" except these sections connect to the CI baseboards. They are 1/2".

Now I am adding 2 more zones. I have bought all pipes and fittings which are 1". I just realized that I am going to have branches now. And all branches have the same pipe size as the main. It sounds no good. The planned 3 zones system is reverse return system with circulator in supply side.

My question is what will happen if branches have the same pipe size as the main? It will still work? Partially work?
 

Last edited by diy007; 10-12-14 at 08:23 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-14, 05:49 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
So your system looks like this now??



My question is what will happen if branches have the same pipe size as the main? It will still work? Partially work?

No problem there. So now you need to add three zone valves.. ( But I would probably add a second circulator for the other two zones...)

What type of baseboard are you adding to your system? More cast or finned tube BB?

What pump do you have?

How many feet on each new zone?

Did you do a heat loss calc of each room?

What is the make and model boiler you have now?
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-14, 06:03 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
Maybe something like this.. Two zone valves and flow control put on the main loop...

Name:  cast and BB.jpg
Views: 374
Size:  16.8 KB
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-14, 07:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 119
This is what my plan is. Three circulators, one for each zone.

These circulators are taco 007 with flow check valve. The boiler is Burnham Alpine 105 gas boilder and 5 yrs old. It is big enough, i think, because at that time the 3 zones was planned already.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by diy007; 10-13-14 at 08:06 AM.
  #5  
Old 10-13-14, 08:41 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
Overradiate so you stay in condensing temps to save energy. IMO put high output BB to save space..

3 pumps are good but you will use more electric. Like I said you can take one pump out of the equation...
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-14, 09:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 119
You think the main pipe size and the branches pipe size are the same is not a big issue?

Take one pump and add two zone valve? that is a good idea.
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-14, 10:30 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
You run the loops in 3/4" off the 1" main line...

The loops should be less then 67ft of BB element......
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-14, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Any chance I can run 1" branches off the main line. I have all these pipes and fittings ready already.
 
  #9  
Old 10-13-14, 01:42 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,722
Likes Received: 2
Running copper or pex?

I dont think you need to run 1"... why did you chose this?

3/4 pipe can carry 40k btus.. any zone larger then that?

I guess you can do it but its certainly not needed...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes