thermostat recommendation for hot water radiator? Nest?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-14, 08:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermostat recommendation for hot water radiator? Nest?

I know there's info out there,

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/bo...patible.html#b

Installing Nest in a 100-Year-Old House with Radiator Heating: A Guide/Review | Ambrose Little

but i wondered if anyone recommends the Nest thermostat for my situation.

I have a hot water radiator system with a simple T-stat. My main problem is that i can't change the temperature without it overshooting my set temp by 2-3 degrees. I understand why this is but with only 7 programmable steps per day this isn't really enough.

What i really need is lots of programmable time steps or some intellegence in firing my boiler (not just on and off). I assume this doesn't exist as most seem to say 7 steps per day and my t-stat just seems to fire the boiler non stop when below the set temp. It looks like the nest does what i'm after, learns how your system operates and applies enough heat signals to reach your desired temperature.

My other idea was to build a t-stat from an arduino setup but i don't exactly have the time for that.


cheers for any insight.

ps i'm not too worries about knocking although i have had some of that.

oman
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-14, 09:06 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I have a hot water radiator system with a simple T-stat. My main problem is that i can't change the temperature without it overshooting my set temp by 2-3 degrees.
How 'simple' is your thermostat?

What make/model is it?

Have you had the cover off of it yet? Is there a dial inside that says 'anticipator' on it? If so, have you tried setting it to 'shorter' cycles?
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-14, 07:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 568
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have found that if the room over shoots set temperature it can be corrected by reducing the boiler water temperature , which also will save fuel. An outdoor reset will make the adjustments for you to keep it in step with the outside temperature.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-14, 08:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 917
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Newer digital thermostats will have settings for temp swing or what's called anticipation. Some will actually adapt to your home automatically.

I also agree 100% with what saves has said. If you lots of radiation, you most likely are running a little on the hot side and can save some $$$ on heating costs if you lower the water temperature of the system.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-14, 07:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 71
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Guys,

I have a UPM Thermostat (probably UPM-301 - sorry i was so brief before - it was late). This seems to be a 2 wire system and i'm not sure if my old Slant Fin boiler GG75HYPED has the option for more (this may be a better link but i believe i have the vintage option).

I popped open the thermostat but i don't see a anticipator setting. I did a quick 10 min burn on my boiler and the temperature only rose to 30 C but perhaps if it was left for longer it would get to 40 C. I'll look into how to set it. What is a typical setting for Toronto Canada (Buffalo?).

I'll try and do some more investigation myself to see what's possible with my setup.

cheers
oman
 

Last edited by oman4eva; 10-13-14 at 07:37 PM. Reason: updated slant fin link
  #6  
Old 10-14-14, 05:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The honeywell thermostats will adjust to how your system works. You don't need to spend the money on a Nest.
 
  #7  
Old 10-14-14, 05:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,174
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Throw a boiler control on your system. You do not need an expensive stat to try to force your boiler to turn on and off.
Sounds to me like your boiler is too big and the water temps do not track the load well. Of course this time of year there is not much load.
So may not even be heating yet....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: