Ferroli Domina F24E boiler, stops (block) after couple of seconds...


  #1  
Old 10-22-14, 09:40 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ferroli Domina F24E boiler, stops (block) after couple of seconds...

Hi everyone and thanks for any input in advance.

I have a Ferroli Domina F24E boiler that stops (block) after couple of seconds...

I didn't open the combustion chamber because I don't know whether it is safe or not but from its cover's small window I can see a blue flame before the block.

In the manual there is written to check the following:

1) gas input
I have seen the flame so I guess it is OK

2) air in the pipes
I let air out of the radiators and reset pressure between 1 ,5 and 2

3) electrodes
I would like to check them but do you think I can safely turn the boiler on with the combustion chamber open?
 
  #2  
Old 10-22-14, 10:14 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
You are asking about a boiler that I don't believe is sold in the USA. So I wonder why your profile indicates that your location is in IOWA , US ?

The majority of ppl that visit this website are US based and probably do not have experience with European made heating products.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-14, 10:25 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
One of the most common problems with any gas fired heating appliance with the symptom you describe is a dirty flame sensor. These sensors are usually a rod which is enveloped by the flame. Often removal & cleaning with a Scotch Brite pad will cure the problem.
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-14, 12:08 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doh, didnt realize those were US states. I was actually looking for IT but it was not there.
Thanks for the tip Grady. I think what you describe there is what the manual calls electrod.
I will open all the windows and the combustion chamber & hope for the best.

Sorry for the non US intrusion.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-14, 12:37 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
I looked at some parts diagrams & it appears there are two rods. The one with a simple 90* bend would appear to be the flame sensing rod.
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-14, 01:03 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
Sorry for the non US intrusion.
No apology needed! I just wanted you to know that we might not know your equipment. We're happy to help anyone if we are able...

And Grady is able! (as usual!)
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-14, 04:54 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
Thanks Troop. I'm not sure about which electrode is which cause my German(?) don't be so real goot.
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-14, 07:28 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
German(?) don't be so real goot
Nein, es ist nicht Deutsch, Italiano.

Είσαι ακόμα ο καλύτερος!

If that sounds like Greek to you, it's because it is!

The manual is in English! Hooray!

https://www.heatingspares247.com/dow...cal_Manual.pdf

I believe it's item #82 on page 8.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: