Aquastat Wiring Help!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-14, 03:03 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Aquastat Wiring Help!!!!!!!!!!!

Hot water boiler needed new aquastat model number L6006A1145. Problem is I'm not sure how to wire it up. The old one had only 2 terminals which ran from the gas valve to the aquastat. One red and one white wire. Nothing will happen when I call for heat at the thermostat but if I jump R and W at the aquastat the burners come on. There is also a "B" terminal on the aquastat if that helps any. The thermostat is ran to a step down transformer, to a gas valve and to the aquastat. Here are a few pics.
 
Ronald Stahley voted this post useful.
  #2  
Old 11-05-14, 03:22 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 68 Votes on 60 Posts
Welcome to the forums...

For reference here are the new aquastat instructions... I have not read them yet and have no time right now.

http://s3.supplyhouse.com/manuals/12..._PROD_FILE.pdf

Others will chime in soon...

Oh we dont see the pics... Can you repost them????
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-14, 03:25 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The pics won't upload for some reason. Any suggestions? Also I have all manuals
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-14, 03:27 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
I believe that aquastat is being used as a HIGH LIMIT control, is that correct?

If so, wire the two wires to the R and the B terminals. The aquastat BREAKS the R & B on a temperature rise to setpoint.
 
  #5  
Old 11-05-14, 03:42 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
here are the pics

Here are 3 pics one of the aquastat, one of the transformer, and one of the gas valve

Name:  pic1.jpg
Views: 320
Size:  33.0 KB
Name:  pic2.jpg
Views: 298
Size:  33.7 KB
Name:  pic3.jpg
Views: 304
Size:  27.4 KB
 
  #6  
Old 11-05-14, 03:59 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
Move the white wire to the B terminal.

And really? wires just twisted together and left bare? Seriously, spend a buck and buy some wire nuts, will ya please? That is really poor workmanship.
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-14, 04:12 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The wires were already like that. I know I need to put wire nuts on them. I am the 2nd tech on this boiler. This is not my workmanship.
 
  #8  
Old 11-05-14, 04:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 68 Votes on 60 Posts
I am the 2nd tech on this boiler.


Are you the tech or the homeowner may we ask???
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-14, 04:18 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I am a certified HVAC service tech and installer. 8yrs doing this but never ran into this problem.
 
  #10  
Old 11-05-14, 04:21 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I'm also going to run fresh 2 wire
 
  #11  
Old 11-05-14, 04:46 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 68 Votes on 60 Posts
OK so did you get it to work per troopers suggestion, or do you still need assistance?
 
  #12  
Old 11-05-14, 05:06 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I haven't tried it yet. Homeowner had to leave when I was working on it. I have to go back tomorrow and give it a try. What exactly is the "B" terminal doing?
 
  #13  
Old 11-05-14, 05:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,154
Received 68 Votes on 60 Posts
What exactly is the "B" terminal doing?


High-limit Controller shuts off burner when water
temperature exceeds high-limit setting. R-B contacts
make, and burner restarts when temperature drops to
high-limit setting minus the temperature differential.
 
  #14  
Old 11-05-14, 05:32 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
What exactly is the "B" terminal doing?
It's the terminal that 'breaks' on temperature rise.

ON TEMPERATURE RISE:

R - B BREAKS

R - W MAKES

R is the 'common' terminal, and that terminal is connected to B OR W (never both) depending on the water temperature.

When your water is BELOW the setpoint, R is connected to B.

When the water goes ABOVE the setpoint, R is DISconnected from B and CONNECTED to W.
 
  #15  
Old 11-05-14, 06:16 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ok I get it now so the W terminal is just obsolete?
 
  #16  
Old 11-05-14, 07:12 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
I get it now so the W terminal is just obsolete?
No, it's just used for different purpose.

For example, if that aquastat were to be used to control a circulator pump so that it didn't turn on until say 120F ... you would use the R W terminals.
 
  #17  
Old 11-05-14, 07:57 PM
A
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
OK now I understand 100%. I really do appreciate all the help. I'm going to take care of this tomorrow and I will surely give an update.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: