boiler size

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-14, 04:51 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
boiler size

Hi, a long time ago I replaced the boiler in my mom's old house. The old boiler was a 400,000 BTU monster. I used a heat-loss program which said we needed about a 300,000 BTU boiler. We installed two 150,000 BTU boilers, and quickly discovered that most of the time only one of them was needed to comfortably heat the house. (Only needed the 2nd one when it was below 10F outside.)

Now one of them has died, and I'm thinking of just installing one big boiler. So what size do you think I should go with? Seems silly to me to install a 300,000. However I should add that the old boiler did run most of the time in cold weather.

Thanks,

Laz
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-14, 05:00 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,146
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
Now one of them has died
How did it die?

What is the sq ft of homes?

What type of heat emitters in the home. Cast iron rads, baseboard?

Is this HW or steam...
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-14, 06:30 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The boiler started leaking steam.

The house is about 6,000 square feet.

Hot water with mainly cast iron radiators.

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-14, 04:17 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
The boiler started leaking steam.
Exactly where is this 'steam' coming from?



If you need 300K BTUH to heat a 6000 sq ft home there are certainly improvements to be made in the heat loss of the home. That's FIFTY BTUH / square foot, and that's a lot of heat loss.

Insulation and air sealing is fuel that you only pay for ONCE. It's the first thing that should be done.

If you can cut the heat loss down, you can run a smaller boiler and save money year after year on fuel.

That aside...

most of the time only one of them was needed
Of course, because most of the time it's not super cold outside and the heat loss is less.

If for some odd reason you do need 300K BTUH to heat the place, you would do well to continue to use two boilers and control them so that they are staged.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: