DHW overheating, ER-2 message from Amtrol

Old 01-07-15, 10:27 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
DHW overheating, ER-2 message from Amtrol

Hello, first off I'd like to thank everyone that provides such helpful info on these and other forums.

My situation:
I just bought my first house about a month ago. I have no previous HVAC experience or knowledge, everything I do know I have learned in the last month out of necessity from research on forums like this, so please excuse my lack of experience and feel free to correct my terminology/understanding of things. Anyway, here's what's going on...

Upon walking into my newly purchased house in early December I discovered it was a balmy 40 something degrees. Checked both of the boiler shutoff switches and they were on, but the heat wasn't working. After paying a tech $112/hr for 3 hours to come fix frozen pipes etc, I decided I needed to learn some of this stuff for myself. He got the heat working and it works great, the only problem I'm still having is with the DHW. It's extremely hot.

Here's my setup:
Slant/Fin Liberty II oil burning furnace/boiler (whatever you call it)
Amtrol Boilermate water heater/tank
The furnace runs 3 zones plus a 4th for the hot water, using Taco 007-F5 circulators on the return side (we're in a single story house w/basement).

When I got the house, the thermostat for the Amtrol was pulled out and sitting on the floor with a bunch of wires running to/from it. The thermostat did not appear to have power and nothing was on the display. After a lot of research into wiring diagrams, I figured out that someone appeared to have wired it to bypass the thermostat completely. Our boiler would run way more frequently than it should and we went through a quarter of a tank of oil in like a week. I re-wired it but the thermostat would never display anything even when power was applied. I decided it was fried (probably why they bypassed it), and replaced it.