No circulation to 2nd floor

Reply

  #81  
Old 01-11-15, 04:29 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
HOORAY!

Keeping it manually open right now so it always flows on any calls
One thing to know... I'm not sure if the Erie are the same as Honeywell in this respect, but...

If you lock the lever in manual on a Honeywell valve, the first time that the thermostat calls for heat on it's own, the valve will UNLOCK out of manual and revert to auto again.

So just in case the Eries are the same (I think they are) you want to turn that thermostat DOWN so it doesn't call for heat.
 
Sponsored Links
  #82  
Old 01-11-15, 05:00 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good point. Right now I still have the power head off so that won't be a problem. A programmable stat may be in order for up there. Is there one out there that calls periodically regardless of temperature?
 
  #83  
Old 01-11-15, 05:17 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On a side note, I rebooted the outdoor reset and it seems to be working better now. Actually reaching target temp now.
 
  #84  
Old 01-11-15, 05:17 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Is there one out there that calls periodically regardless of temperature?
Not that I know of...

There used to be a gadget that they sold for wood heated homes that would call thermostat on a time schedule, but I can't find that any more...
 
  #85  
Old 01-11-15, 05:22 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it this
ThermGuard
 
  #86  
Old 01-11-15, 05:23 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Found it...................................



ThermGuard
 
  #87  
Old 01-11-15, 05:23 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
You found it too! .................
 
  #88  
Old 01-11-15, 05:31 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Haha. Might have to pick one up.
 
  #89  
Old 01-12-15, 06:57 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Found the TACO PC610 as well which I think would plug right into my controller. Problem is, the shortest setting is 4min on, 1hr off. Now I really don't think the pipes would freeze in an hour unless it was brutally cold out, but then again, I didn't think they would freeze in the first place...

Seems like this might not be a bad thing to have in the summer either to get the zones circulating periodically just to keep things working.

What do you think?
 
  #90  
Old 01-12-15, 07:31 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I believe that board is a 'pump excercise module... and unless a zone valve is open all it will do is run the pump 'dead headed', and no flow to the zones.
 
  #91  
Old 01-12-15, 07:33 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmm, I read on another forum that it would open zone valves and everything would operate as if there was a call for heat. I guess I need to do more investigation.

http://forum.heatinghelp.com/discuss...-card-question
 
  #92  
Old 01-12-15, 08:14 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I would independently verify that... he said it will also fire the boiler and I don't think that's true...

Write to Taco, they're pretty good about answering questions.
 
  #93  
Old 01-12-15, 08:24 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,744
Received 66 Votes on 62 Posts
  #94  
Old 01-12-15, 08:32 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I did... and I see nothing there, nor in the documents for the ZVC-EXP that indicate that the 610 module will open all the zone valves.

The -exp panels BUILT IN pump excercise WILL OPEN zone valves, says that in the manual... so I have no reason to think that the 610 won't follow suit, but it does not explicitly state that in the installation docs.

And none of them say anything about firing the boiler...
 
  #95  
Old 01-12-15, 09:35 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ya, I will mail them and see.
 
  #96  
Old 01-13-15, 07:33 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Taco said the circ will start, all valves will open, and the boiler will fire.
 
  #97  
Old 01-13-15, 08:00 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Wonder why they don't put that in the install manuals?

Good info to know, thanks!

But now... I wonder... why would a pump excercise module fire the boiler?

Part of the reason for excercise is that the wet rotor pumps have a tendency to 'stick' after sitting over a long period, summer for example... why would a pump excerciser also fire the boiler?
 
  #98  
Old 01-13-15, 09:30 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure, but it sounds like it acts just as if a thermostat would on a call for heat which is what I want. Might try one, they are relatively cheap at around $40-50 or so.

NJ, if you don't mind me asking, what is your background/profession?
 
  #99  
Old 01-13-15, 11:18 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
My guess is the boiler firing is a side effect of the valves opening.
 
  #100  
Old 01-13-15, 12:02 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's what I am thinking Grady. The valve opening is making the end switch contact and starting the circ and boiler.
 
  #101  
Old 01-13-15, 01:57 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,744
Received 66 Votes on 62 Posts
Well, if that's the case the Thermguard would be cheaper,I would think it would be better to try and configure it so that it is connected to the thermostat terminals at the boiler rather than the way the instruction seem to lead.
Just a thought! Geo
PS where in Maine?
 
  #102  
Old 01-13-15, 02:36 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
The valve opening is making the end switch contact and starting the circ and boiler.

Yes, I'm sure... but you would think Taco could engineer a way to exercise pumps without running the burners...
 
  #103  
Old 01-13-15, 02:38 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
configure it so that it is connected to the thermostat terminals at the boiler rather than the way the instruction seem to lead
But then the zone valves would not be open and defeats the purpose of circulating water to prevent freezing.
 
  #104  
Old 01-13-15, 07:49 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
The few minutes the burner is running isn't going to make a hill of beans worth of difference in the cost of operation. Why not exercise the whole sytem. Every Saturday or Sunday morning in the off season, I turn all of my stats up until I feel hot water returning on all zones. Takes all of maybe 5 minutes.
If you exercise do you just do curls or sit ups? Grrrr....
 
  #105  
Old 01-14-15, 05:40 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still torn between the two. Not sure which I will get.


Well, if that's the case the Thermguard would be cheaper,I would think it would be better to try and configure it so that it is connected to the thermostat terminals at the boiler rather than the way the instruction seem to lead.
Just a thought! Geo
PS where in Maine?
If I got the ThermGuard I would connect it in the basement at the Taco box instead of at the stat. Don't really want a box hanging below the stat. I am originally from Jackman, now bought a house in North Berwick.

But then the zone valves would not be open and defeats the purpose of circulating water to prevent freezing.
What difference would it make what end of the stat wire it is wired to, whether it be at the stat or at the Taco box?
 
  #106  
Old 01-14-15, 05:44 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
What difference would it make what end of the stat wire it is wired to, whether it be at the stat or at the Taco box?
Thermostat terminals at the Taco would be fine.

Geo said:

the thermostat terminals at the boiler
And that's AFTER the Taco panel... not the same thing.
 
  #107  
Old 01-14-15, 05:55 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
True, that wouldn't work.

What's your background NJ?
 
  #108  
Old 01-14-15, 07:03 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
What's your background NJ?
Pretty much everything.................................................
 
  #109  
Old 01-14-15, 07:14 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the specifics........................................................
 
  #110  
Old 01-14-15, 07:37 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Check your private messages........................
 
  #111  
Old 01-14-15, 08:29 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,744
Received 66 Votes on 62 Posts
Just a neater installation than having something stuck on the wall with wires going into the thermostat.
IMHO
Geo
 
  #112  
Old 01-14-15, 08:32 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 207
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a neater installation than having something stuck on the wall with wires going into the thermostat.
IMHO
Geo
That it is, but like NJ mentioned, it would need to be wired on the stat side of the Taco box, not the boiler side.

I am in North Berwick, originally from Jackman. Where are you in NH?
 
  #113  
Old 01-14-15, 08:33 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,744
Received 66 Votes on 62 Posts
Sorry, onto the thermostat terminals in the Taco controller,just took to much for granit.
Geo
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: