Boiler Constantly Going Through Heat Cycles

Old 01-20-15, 08:11 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler Constantly Going Through Heat Cycles

I would appreciate any help with this as it's been causing some sleepless nights for my family and me. I'm fairly new to HVAC so excuse me if my terminology is wrong. I have a Weil-McLain HE-5 Series 3 boiler which provides heat to 4 zones. I have a separate water heater.

The problem is that there seems to be a constant call for heat. I have all thermostats off but the boiler goes through a continual heat cycle until it reaches the high limit of 180-ish degrees, cools down, then kicks in again. When I make a legit call for heat, everything *seems* to be working fine. I have 3 electronic zone valves. When the stat calls, I see the lever go to the open position and the circulator come on. I fiddled with the valves and none seem to be stuck. When they are open, the lever goes back and forth easily, and otherwise there's a slight resistance. I have seen the boiler running with all 3 valves seemingly closed (lever has resistance), which I didn't even think was possible.

Before I get to the photos, I should say my problems began several weeks ago with a completely different issue (but maybe related). After several hours of normal use, or even days, I would find that there was no heat at all and see that the draft inducer blower was on, but no heat source. The only way I could get it working was to disconnect one of the pressure tubes (the red one going from pressure switch to heat exchanger), after which I'd hear a click, and once reconnected the ignition sequence would start. I did check that the tubes and flue were clean.

I find it really odd that I go from not getting heat often enough, to getting too much of it now. I have a multimeter but not entirely sure how to use it or what to check to be honest. I'd really appreciate any suggestions.

Here some photos.