Wiring up Taco relay box


  #1  
Old 02-16-15, 10:09 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wiring up Taco relay box

Hey guys new member here. Recently just started plumbing my boiler to add a second zone for heat to a second floor. Plumbed it with pex and have a grundfos circulator for the second floor.

My question is when wiring up the taco relay box can I steal power from a junction box on the boiler circuit breaker or do I have to run a separate circuit breaker for that unit? I'm fairly handy and an auto mechanic by trade. My biggest thing I have a problem with is knowing what's code or not. Electrical and plumbing in general is no issue for me.

Thanks-mike
 
  #2  
Old 02-16-15, 10:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,620
Received 3,322 Likes on 2,983 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You can connect the new Taco control to the existing boiler power. It's actually better this way so that when the service switch is turned off.... everything is dead.
 
  #3  
Old 02-16-15, 10:22 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks, yeah I thought I could cause I wanted to have it connected to the emergency shut off switch that way when that shuts off everything shuts off.
 
  #4  
Old 02-16-15, 10:25 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm actually gonna rewire it from the breaker cause that wiring is original to my 1950's house. And the old thermostat on the first floor is 110 and I got 2 24v thermostats I'm setting up to replace that
 
  #5  
Old 02-16-15, 12:31 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,403
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Line voltage wires between the boiler, Taco relay, & circulators must be in type MC cable or FMC (flexible metalic conduit).
 
  #6  
Old 02-16-15, 06:56 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What would be better if rewiring the breaker 20amp or stay with the 15?
 
  #7  
Old 02-16-15, 07:26 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,403
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Fifteen is plenty for the boiler, zone panel, & circulators.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: