Harsh Winter = Cold Showers

Old 02-21-15, 01:08 PM
Harsh Winter = Cold Showers

I've recently moved into a 1986 Colonial home in central-CT and have noticed the furnace has begun to struggle with our currently harsh winter. It wasnt great before now, but definitely wasnt this bad. There are only 2 occupants; my wife and I. Previously there were 2 adults and a 20-25 year old girl.

The furnace is a 2-3 year old Weil-McLain Gold and runs on oil.
The house has 2 zones.
Temps have been in the single digits with wind chills below zero.

I must admit I'm a novice when it comes to HVAC stuff, so apologies in advance.

Here are some pics I took of her, hopefully it can shed a little light. I've been told that perhaps the call temp is too low or the mixing valve needs to be adjusted?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-15, 05:07 PM
NJT
Hi Goofy,

Are you saying that the boiler is having trouble heating the HOUSE, or the domestic HOT WATER, or BOTH?

If I'm seeing correctly, the HIGH is set at 180, the LOW between 140 and 150, and the ECONOMY between 1 and 2 ?

If so, those settings are probably OK.

I've been told that perhaps the call temp is too low or the mixing valve needs to be adjusted?
Probably good advice.

I'm not exactly sure where the 'pointer' is on your mixing valve. What is it set to now?

Typically, one would set the mixing valve to about 125F and the boiler about 20F above that.

Those 'tankless coils' inside boilers are really the worst and most inefficient way of producing domestic hot water. The problems you are having plague everyone that has them.

Believe it or not, turning the mixing valve to HOTTER will often make matters worse. This is because when you do that, you are forcing more water to flow through the coil in the boiler and that extra flow doesn't allow enough 'dwell time' in the coil to heat the water.