Honeywell FV147 float vent installation


  #1  
Old 02-28-15, 09:22 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 337
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell FV147 float vent installation

I recently purchased some float vents to use in radiators that I am going to install in the near future. In the past, I have used the Honeywell FV180, but instead had to substitute for a Honeywell FV147. My question was if the FV147 had to be installed vertically, or if it could be installed horizontally?

Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 02-28-15, 10:51 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,766
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
All float vents need to be installed vertically.

Float can't float if it's sitting on it's side!

You are installing these on radiators? How come?
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-15, 11:20 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 337
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The reason that I am installing these on radiators is that it greatly helps when filling the system. Long story short, after doing a full detailed heat / cool analysis on my house I found that many rooms did not have enough emitter output to meet the heat loss of the room. So, I have been slowly acquiring old radiators and cleaning them up / restoring them, and adding them to the system. The radiators are much more effective than the fin tube baseboards.
 
  #4  
Old 02-28-15, 11:25 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,766
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Yes, they're good for that! No running up and down the stairs...

Me would screw the cap closed during normal operation though, and only open when servicing.
 
  #5  
Old 02-28-15, 11:52 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 337
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, they're good for that! No running up and down the stairs...
Yes, my thoughts exactly.


Me would screw the cap closed during normal operation though, and only open when servicing.
Correct. I only open the caps on initial fill, and then I will periodically open them to check and verify that there is no air in the lines for the first few days after a new fill. Other than that they always remain closed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: