I think I have a faulty zone valve

Old 03-04-15, 01:00 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I'm a just signed up newbie making my first post. I'm a Canuck wintering in Gulf Shores Alabama for our fourth time.

Our house sitter back home is having a problem with the heating.

We have a 10 year old, oil fired boiler hot water system with five zones and using slant fin rads and all on one floor.

The 4 zones for the three bedrooms and bathroom each service one small slant fin rad each and seem to be working fine.

The biggest zone services 5 rads, consisting of 4 fairly big slant fin rads which is for the living/dining room, kitchen and 1 small rad at the bottom of the stairs going to the front door. That zone when operating normally has gone up to 74 F in the winter when it was accidently set too high and quite possibly could have gone higher.

For whatever reason that zone seems to be acting erratically this year, sometimes getting that zone up to only 19 Celsius (66.2 F) maximum and sometimes only up to 15C (59 F).

I had the thermostat changed but that had no effect.

The boiler also heats an in-door swimming pool with it's own thermostat and I turned the heat down for while we're away and it's maintaining a constant 60 F, so it's fine.

Is it possible for zone valves to for whatever reason start to act erratically?

I hope that's the case because replacing the zone valve would be a simple solution. I hope someone out there in cyberspace might have some good input on my problem. Thanx for your attention and consideration.

Last edited by NJT; 03-04-15 at 03:40 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-15, 02:35 PM
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Does this have any correlation with the outside temperature swings?
Just a thought.
Geo

Old 03-04-15, 02:53 PM
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Considering the boiler, pump and all other zones are working and you have already changed the Tatar with the info provided it sounds like the zone valve could be the possible culprit.