Test Relief Valves

Old 03-23-15, 07:16 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Test Relief Valves

The attached link is the importance of checking relief valves. When I was a service manager we tested many relief valves that would leak after being tested so they needed replaced. We got many complaints from homeowners that we made it leak so they were not going to pay for it.
What is the price of keeping your family safe.

https://www.facebook.com/comfortcalc?ref=bookmarks If you are not signed into facebook you will get an error but just click on follow link.

Last edited by rbeck; 03-23-15 at 07:38 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 03-23-15, 04:02 PM
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Good info! I do lift that manual operator ever few months. However, in the big-boiler world, "testing" relief valves means pressurizing them to verify their set-point. I certainly don't do that for my residential hot-water boiler, but I replace my relief valve every five years or so - some time when my boiler, for maintenance, is depressurized and drained below the relief valve elevation.

By the way, having an isolation valve ahead of the relief valve might be handy, but it is, of course, verboten.

Old 03-24-15, 08:37 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think if you lift the lever, be ready to replace it.
Unless you do it often, then things don't build up under the seat.

I have yet to find one that would not release at pressure, found many that leak.
More often people will replace them with plugs or caps,cause they don't have the parts at hand to fix it.

I love seeing them piped into a floor drain and running like a half open faucet :-)

Old 03-25-15, 05:59 PM
There are actually TWO tests you run on a relief valve. One test is for verifying the ACCURACY of the valve. That's a pop test which tests the pressure at which it opens and re-seats... but doesn't necessarily need to be done on a residential boiler. I do Commercial Steam boilers and this test has to be done once a year.