Calculating efficiency of hydronic distribution

Old 10-18-15, 02:05 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Calculating efficiency of hydronic distribution

Hi, everybody, I'm a newbie here so please forgive any gaffes. I'm in the process of trying to find out how well the old heat distribution system in my old historic home works. I already have a professionally done assessment of the efficiency of our boiler and measure the % fill of my propane tanks daily (adjusting to 60 degrees). In brief, there are four zones whose heat comes from a propane boiler. The lowest floor and the fourth floor have baseboards. The second and third floors have old-fashioned radiators. The pipe scheme is primary/secondary.

I have a datalogger with 2 k type thermocouples attached to the supply and return pipes from and to the boiler. As per a recommendation from a trusted source, they are located at least 10 pipe diameters from the respective inlets and outlets of the boiler and are attached on either side of the primary/secondary tees. I realize that these will not give the true temperature of the water inside the pipes, but my reasoning is that the delta between those two will give a decent estimate of how much of a temperature drop there is between the supply and the return. Is that a reasonable assumption? If not, could you explain? So, that's the first point.