Hot water issue

Old 10-18-15, 08:07 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hot water issue

Hello,

Forgive me as I am new to all of this. I moved into a larger sized home in the summer and it has a oil heating/hot water system with well water. Service records show the unit was serviced last fall. Basically, I turned on the system (heat) the other day and it was cool at first and the unit was only turning on for a brief period of time. The was some clicking from the control panel behind the slide off cover, but only the first time startup. I became a google serviceman and flushed the pipes and bled the pipes/valve etc. I raised the temperature on the inside digital heating and cooling panel and the heat began working fine. However, now I only receive maybe 1-2 minutes of hot water before it becomes cool again. When inspecting the small tank on top, i tripped a valve on the top of the unit which began to spew hot water. I turned the valve (i think the relief valve) around until the leaking stopped. Also, there is a sort of valve stem sticking up (like you would see on a tire) with no screw on cover on it. My wife will kill me if i don't get hot water soon, and i really would like to avoid a service call.

Burnham unit with amtrol extol attached.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-18-15, 08:45 PM
Received 25 Votes on 19 Posts
I cannot decipher your technology so I will ask you to post at least a dozen well lit and in focus pictures of your installation. Pictures from far enough back so I/we can see the various parts and how they are connected. Ideally, they should be high definition pictures and uploaded to a photo hosting site rather than posted directly to the forum.

Old 10-19-15, 06:01 AM
NJT
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Burnham unit
And there are dozens of models... which one specifically do you have?

Old 10-19-15, 07:34 AM
Mobile Uploads by ryan_goulette | Photobucket