Thermolec B8 boiler with SetPoint 501s Thermostat moving to Nest Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-15, 09:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermolec B8 boiler with SetPoint 501s Thermostat moving to Nest Thermostat

Hey folks,

Some background and context:

I have a Thermolec B8 boiler (electrical only) running a hot water radiant floor heating setup.

Thermolec | Standard Boiler

The Thermolec is controlled by a SetPoint 501s thermostat.

Uponor Professional

and

http://www.uponorpro.com/~/media/Ext...n=043020101056

I'm just replacing the 501s with a Nest thermostat and not changing anything on the Thermolec setup itself.

I've connected the #5 wire from the 501s (red) to the Rh connector on the Nest and I've connected the #6 wire on the 501s (orange) to the W1 on the Nest. (see .PDF at the last link for the 501s' wiring diagram)

Both the R and C wires from the 501s (black and white) I've not connected to the Nest. These two wires seem to be meant only to power the screen and electronics of the 501s while the Nest seems to take its power from other, non-dedicated circuits (like Rh).

The Nest reports Voc of 32.86V which seems in line with the docs here:

https://nest.com/support/article/Pow...ing-Thermostat

( Battery is 3.710V / Vin is 6.96V / lin is 20 mA (i) )

Here was the wiring of the 501s prior to my disconnecting it (wires #1 and #2 are the floor temperature sensor which I will be forgoing with the Nest)

Name:  IMG_1466.jpg
Views: 1201
Size:  31.2 KB

Now when I do a heater test or raise the temperature on the Nest, nothing happens on the Thermolec. Neither the boiler nor pump seem to start.

I hope someone here can help me diagnose this, just let me know what other information you need!

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-15, 11:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Do your two thermostat switch wires connect to C and W1 at the boiler or to the S1-S2 terminals ?

If you short the orange and red wires at the stat... does the boiler start ?


You may be able to use the black and white to supply power to the nest. Don't try yet.
Connect the white wire to C and the black wire to Rc.
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-15, 08:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey PJmax,

Thanks for the assistance.

I just opened the boiler and it looks like the wires hit the C and W1 terminals. I haven't tried shorting the orange and red wires at the thermostat nor have I tried connecting the black and white wires yet.

Here is a picture of what looks like the thermostat connections at the boiler:

Name:  IMG_1468.jpg
Views: 1306
Size:  39.7 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: