NO HEAT, Ignition Control Issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-29-15, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 115
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NO HEAT, Ignition Control Issue

I came home from a long weekend with family to a freezing house. Went down to check why we have no heat and the Honeywell S8610U was not working and the error code that it is flashing is a damper error.

We don't have a vent damper and never have so I am not sure why there is a vent damper error. I tried cycling power and everything and the same error keeps coming up. I believe that this unit was replaced when we bought the house back in July of this year because the old unit wasn't working so this is a pretty new unit.

Is there anything I can do to test? What about bypass it temporarily to get some heat in the house?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-29-15, 12:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
What code did you get ? A five flash ?

Name:  s_8610U.jpg
Views: 420
Size:  42.5 KB

You can't bypass that module.... it controls the ignition and gas valves.
 
  #3  
Old 11-29-15, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 115
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea it is a 5 flash code, that is how I figured it out to be a damper error. I had a feeling that it wasn't something that could be bypassed. Anything else I can try?
 
  #4  
Old 11-29-15, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
Looking at the diagram...... is there anything connected to the 6 pin plug ?

Name:  board.JPG
Views: 964
Size:  36.6 KB
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-15, 01:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 115
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nope, nothing connected and never was.
 
  #6  
Old 11-29-15, 01:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
Ok....sorry for the delay. I was looking further into that control module. Here's what I've found out.... if no vent plug was ever connected to that 6 pin plug.... then the module should be ignoring any reference to vent. If it shows vent failure issue.... code 5.... the module is defective.

I've been reading many customer complaints about these modules only lasting a month or two and failing. The control is not inexpensive but you should still have a warranty on it.
 
  #7  
Old 11-29-15, 01:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 115
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for looking in to it! I got in touch with the people that replaced it back on June 30th and he said he should be here sometime within an hour or so. I would hope that it is covered if it has only been 5 months and it failed already.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: