need help with oil fired beckett burner

Old 12-25-15, 04:57 PM
need help with oil fired beckett burner

Hi all
Sometimes the burner will run fine all day and on some mornings the burner will be off and the water temp has bottomed out.
If I press the reset on the Primary it lights right off. Flame looks good.
I have been maintaining this unit myself for over 20 years, annual service,filters, vacuuming of the interior etc. The cad eye is clean. I haven't checked its ohms.

This unit took a bath during SANDY. I put a new motor on it and it has been fine for 3 years.

I suspect the primary is the problem.

I read here that there is a way to test the strength of the relay, but it did not have any details.

When this unit runs there is constant spark as opposed to intermittent ignition.

If I replace the control which one do i use. It's a Honeywell little gray box now, but I cant find an exact replacement.

If you need more info let me know

Thanks in advance

Ralph

Sponsored Links
Old 12-25-15, 07:16 PM
Have you tested the ignition transformer to ensure it is not weak? If it is, it is usually overnight the cause the most problems. I suspect because the temperatures are lower. If it is and you have a clean nozzle, clean filter, proper electrode adjustments, good pump coupling, no oil flow issues (such as water in the line freezing overnight), good pump pressure, and proper smoke level and CO2 then I would also suspect the primary. Honeywell still makes a primary like that as well as a solid state model. ICM is also a good one to use.

Old 12-26-15, 05:47 AM
I would start with changing out the primary, go with a Honeywell R7284U 'reset' control, they are awesome for all types of heating equipment. READ the instructions to configure the control properly...IMPORTANT!! The ignition can be set to only fire for 10 seconds, instead of all the time. The control has a most convenient display which aids in diagnosing a problem.