Locating water heater and parts

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-16, 09:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Locating water heater and parts

I feal stupid but I can't find the water heater. I have an oil heating system that has water base boards throughout the house. How ever I don't see any 60 gallon tank or tankless system. Could the oil system be heating my drinking water? Pics attached.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-11-16, 10:06 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,047
Received 234 Votes on 214 Posts
Yes, one boiler can do both jobs.
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-16, 10:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,533
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From the side, it looks like there's a tankless coil behind the Aquastat.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-16, 10:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,947
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hi jabaseball -


If you look at the first picture in post #4 on this link you can see what Vermont and Pilot Dane are talking about.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/bo...er-heater.html

You can see the cold water line (blue PEX in this case, but yours is probably copper ) going into the tankless coil in the boiler, and the hot water line (red PEX in this case) coming out servicing the house.

Here is what a tankless coil looks like:

Weil McLain Tankless Water Heaters
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-16, 12:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK thats definitely helpful info.
I'm not home now but this diagram looks like my system. So you guys are saying the water heater is near the aquastat? How do I adjust the temp, it is why to hot.
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-16, 01:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
How do I adjust the temp, it is way to hot.
The long and short answer is... you can't.

When the boiler is not supplying hot water for heating it probably idles around 125-140 degrees which is good for domestic hot water. As soon as the house calls for heat.... your boiler temperature goes up to around 180 degrees. That means your domestic is also now at the same temperature.

The proper installation would have included a tempering valve so that the domestic can never get too hot. I don't believe there is a tempering valve in your system.

This is just one of several available. They look mostly the same.

Name:  valve.JPG
Views: 340
Size:  8.4 KB
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-16, 03:34 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,834
Received 19 Votes on 17 Posts
Open up the lid of the aquastst on the side of the boiler..

But first turn off the power to the boiler.

There are 3 dials in there. lo-hi-diff. Tell us what they are set at...

Set the lo to 140f set the hi to 180f and set the diff to 10... Try those settings.. But let us know what they are set for to confirm that this may be some of the issue...
 
  #8  
Old 01-11-16, 07:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 409
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I agree with the guys: the sooner you replace your current "tankless" HW setup with a conventional tank, the better. Doing so, you will (1) have more hot water for longer periods, (2) gain control over the HW temperature setting, and (3) in all likelihood, save energy and money.

From what I can see from the pics, installing a tank wouldn't be all that difficult.

In the meantime, follow lawrosa's instructions...
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-16, 05:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't believe there is a tempering valve in your system.
Is this a tempering valve?

 
  #10  
Old 01-12-16, 05:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
No.... that is a pressure reducing valve.
 
  #11  
Old 01-12-16, 05:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Open up the lid of the aquastst on the side of the boiler..
Is this the aquastat?
 
  #12  
Old 01-12-16, 06:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,177
Received 375 Votes on 352 Posts
Yes. Turn the service switch off to the boiler. There may be one screw holding that cover on. It just needs to be loosened.

Name:  DSC_0237_zpsnq2jfblc.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  45.2 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: