Boiler is running but no fire

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-12-16, 06:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler is running but no fire

Hi,
My boiler is running but it has not fire and not sure what is wrong. Should I replace Igniter ? Or is there anything else I can do to troubleshoot ?

Attached is the image of how my igniter looks like. I do not think I can fire it manually using match box.

I have tried below:
1) I tool Igniter out and checked Ohm and it is showing me ZERO reading mean Igniter is good.
2) Put Gas Valve on Ignite Mode and Push button down for minute or so, still Igniter is not turning on.


My Boiler is below Model:
Brand: Weil-McLain
Model: VHE-6
Type: Natural Gas
INPUT BTU/hr: 167,000

Name:  Igniter.jpg
Views: 237
Size:  47.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-16, 06:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,245
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
It looks like the igniter has a bad spot on it. When you check with an ohmmeter on Rx1 for analog meter or auto for digital it should show a resistance.... not zero.

That is a Norton 201N igniter and should measure 45-200 ohms when cold.

Check for 120vac to the igniter.... with the igniter plugged in.



Name:  Igniter.jpg
Views: 203
Size:  20.7 KB
Be very careful..... those igniters are very fragile and crack easily.
 
  #3  
Old 02-12-16, 07:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,245
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
I'm having trouble locating that service info. From what I've found so far that boiler uses a pressure switch and draft inducer blower. The pressure switch must actuate for igniter to get 120vac.

What is the model number off the ignition control box ?

It looks like the ignition control, if a White Rodgers, should have a red LED fault light on it.
 
  #4  
Old 02-12-16, 08:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pete,
I took it out the igniter and put it back and it started working. Not sure what was the problem but now it ignites.

Some reason Continuity test was showing me ZERO reading not sure if I did correct or not. I did this test while it was not connected.

I think I should buy backup Ignitor just in case this one goes bad again.

Here is the Ignition Control Box picture:
Name:  ignition control box2.jpg
Views: 171
Size:  24.7 KB

Question: What ignitor is most popular and I can replace with my existing one ? Looks like Norton are expensive and hard to find compare to Rheem etc.
 
  #5  
Old 02-13-16, 06:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 672
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
A continuity test on modern electronic igniters can be meaningless. They are not like the old transformer type.
 
  #6  
Old 02-13-16, 07:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,245
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
A continuity test on modern electronic igniters can be meaningless. They are not like the old transformer type.
Huh....

An igniter is a resistive element. It may not have a 100% fixed value but it is still checked with an ohmmeter.

Usually.... if you see a dark or odd colored section in the igniter it's a sign the igniter is going to crack. Having a replacement igniter for every appliance makes sense.
I have one for my furnace, my oven and my dryer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: