Kerr Saturn - Riello 40 F5 Acting Odd

Old 03-02-16, 05:58 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kerr Saturn - Riello 40 F5 Acting Odd

Kerr Saturn Hydronic Boiler. Riello 40 F5. 3 zones in the house (one very old one).
Furnace has been acting up. It worked well for the past 3 years.
One day I noticed it was extinguishing partway through a cycle. It immediately reignites itself and continues on. The pump/fan motor never stops when this occurs, only the flame. Sometimes it would do this 4 or 5 times during a cycle (call for heat). I do not know how long it had been since it was serviced before i bought the house but needless to say it had gone at least 3 years without a service (I know, I am a moron). I am mechanically inclined with automotive, have tools out the wazoo, and also program computers by trade. I always DIY everything for the most part.

This seems to happen only when it is windy outside.

I have done the following:
replaced the spin on filter. Replaced the nozzle.
checked the chimney (totally clear).
Dipped the tank with kolor kut - no water.
Pulled the breach and cleaned out the tubes (had a lot of scale, but no soot).
pulled the burner (chamber has zero soot... just scale from falling down from the tubes during brushing). cleaned that up.
pulled pump side cover and pump screen was clear).
Checked cad cell with multimeter (it was very clean too, no soot at all).

flame appears to be quite lean (looking through the sight hole i can only see the sharp tips of the bright flame below). However air settings were not touched.

the windy days really make it act up. My theory at this point is that it is fuel related, and maybe it is not getting enough fuel for some odd reason which is making the mixture lean?

It seems noisier than normal and the sight hole flap smacks back and forth like there is a negative to positive pressure in the firebox sucking and pushing against the flap.

Just changed the spin on filter again today in desperation.