Honeywell L7224U Sensor Probe 50001464

Old 05-08-16, 01:40 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell L7224U Sensor Probe 50001464

Well, if you have to have a Heating problem, May is a good month to have one.

I've been relying on my L7224U Aquastat since around 2006 with very few problems . . . . so far. Whatever issues came up, I've discussed on this Forum.

Mid-day today we were just making Hot Water until the temperature dropped, and thermostatic call for heat should have occurred (and would have been appreciated). The Boiler was running to maintain the Low Limit only, and I had an Error Code 1 flashing periodically - Sensor Fault, Check Sensor

I read that this may be due to "'corrosion" . . . . but corrosion where ?

I touched nothing . . . . but AFTER the indoor temperature dropped 2 degrees below the normal Cut-In temperature, the Boiler Cut-In; and we've been heated up to our normal Cut-Out Temperature.

So it must have fixed itself ? I think not !

Now I wonder "How long has this Error 1 been appearing and correcting itself ?"

Is the Sensor Bulb leaking ? or fatigued ?

Are the contacts in the Modular 3 Prong Plug (female) what gets corroded ?

Are there any serviceable aspects to the Sensor 50001464 ?

Should I just clean the Modular Plug ?

I'm prepared to just order a new 50001464 and a small batch of Thermal Grease or Heat Conductive Compound to install a new Sensor in the Boiler Well; but wondered if others have encountered this problem ?

Is 10 or 12 years a "normal" life expectancy for a Honeywell Sensor 50001464 ?

I'm glad that this is happening in May . . . . and even happier that I was able to watch it at Mid-Day !

Any help or personal observations will be appreciated !

Sponsored Links
Old 05-09-16, 07:59 AM
Vermont-

I have the L7224 also. This is my second, the first only lasted a few years and the relay stopped working. I didnít look for a soldering defect on the board but rather just got another L7224U.