No hot water from furnace

Old 06-30-16, 05:51 AM
No hot water from furnace

I have an oil furnace (expansion tank) with 2 zones that has oil, power, and water going to the furnace, but the low water cut off is on and I can't figure out why the zones appear to have gone dry(I opened the valves to bleed but just a trickle comes out). The furnace blue (water I assumed) pressure gauge says 0. The Honeywell zone valve pumps run when the thermostat calls for heat (+ 10 degrees) but no water seems able to be getting out of the furnace/it will not fire. I bled the zones last winter with no issues. Reset the LWCO, burner and furnace switch. Not being an HVAC tech I'm guessing the re-circulator pump/cartridge might not be working-it was installed 5-6 years ago. Last furnace maintenance was 3 years ago (we moved into the house last August), water is conditioned with salt and filter.

Previous experience- had to bleed the zones to get hot water to upstairs zone, and a zone had to be started occasionally to get hot water to faucets/shower which points to either a thermostat not working or a pump not working?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-30-16, 10:12 AM
Group Moderator
We're going to need pictures of your setup. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

If the low water cutoff switch is indicating no/low water then the boiler wont fire.
The heating zones may have a problem but the boiler should fire to make domestic water.

You need to determine what's keeping the boiler from firing.

Old 06-30-16, 11:14 AM
I'm guessing you really have a boiler....
It seems you have at least two problems.

First, your makeup water valve and pressure regulator aren't doing their job(or the feedwater valve is closed). There is usually a removable screen on the regulator that often gets plugged up so I'd check that.