Boiler CLUNKING

Old 08-07-16, 05:32 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler CLUNKING

Hi all- forum noob here. First I'm a handy guy even built my own house, contractor for 30+yrs but know nada about the tech end of boilers altho I roughed in the entire house plumbing & 4 zone base board to the manifold and let the pro hook the rest up. To my point....My 19 yr old Crown Aruba ABF70-EID kettles bad during heating. 4 zones+. I'm pretty sure the gauges are ok as I've set the temp from 140-200 at different times and it still bangs away.I should also point out we have a indirect water heater and that gets used a lot mostly from my adult kids taking looong showers despite my efforts to minimize that. I guess from all I have read its mineral deposits inside the cast exchanger. Looking at options i see
1) de-scaleing/flush.
2) replacing just the cast exchanger.
2) new boiler
So, just how effective would the flush actually be (and can it be done)? Do you see the broken up deposits while draining or are they still disolved? As a side curiousity, since the hot water heat is a closed sysytem is there a finite amount of deposits collected on the exchanger and thus the water is "purifeid" or will it cause issues forever?
Replacing, cost effective? I contacted Crown and actually can get a new block assembly for about $1K. And most likely will be replacing related piping/guage hook ups.
New. Lots of money.....
This boiler has never had an issue since installation except for the banging that has grown over the yrs. Would really like to give the cheap fix-of course!_ with a flush but not sure how effective it would be or even how to do it. Suppose i can hire a pro too.
Ok- I rambled a lot here and just needed to vent somewhere, thanks to those (any lol?) that took the time to read... would appreciate any tips and advise!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-08-16, 09:06 AM
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts