No Heat From One Zone on Five Zone System

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-16, 07:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
No Heat From One Zone on Five Zone System

Chad
It sounds like you're on the right path. It does sound like the zone is air bound. Pictures would help.
Hopefully, there was some type of purge station set up.
Has that zone worked since the new boiler was installed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-16, 07:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 61
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No Heat From One Zone on Five Zone System

I recently installed a new boiler this past summer. I am having a problem with getting heat to one zone upstairs in a two story house. There are five zones with Taco zone valves fed by one circulator. I have switched heads on the problem zone with a know working zone with no luck. I think that eliminates the head as an issue. The problem zone is wide open and calling from the thermostat, so I think that eliminates the thermostat. I have shut down the other four zones and manually opened the problem zone. The boiler will kick on, but still no water flow through the problem zone. The line heats about two or three feet from the zone valve location on the problem zone, but that's it. I'm thinking that eliminates the possibility of the valve being stuck closed. The only other thing I can think of is that zone being air bound. Am I on the right path? If so, I can post pictures of the setup as I am not quite sure on how to purge the system given the fact there are no dedicated shutoff valves on each zone which would enable me to isolate each zone to purge.
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-16, 07:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Chad,
Right path. Answered on first post. Pics would help.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-16, 08:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 61
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are some pictures of the setup.

Name:  IMG_2364.jpg
Views: 100
Size:  36.0 KB

Name:  IMG_2365.jpg
Views: 94
Size:  33.1 KB

Name:  IMG_2367.jpg
Views: 129
Size:  27.5 KB
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-16, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Do you have shut offs on the supply side of the zones. I can't see in the pics.
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-16, 08:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 61
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No. That's where my issue is with the purge. I am unable to isolate each zone.
 
  #7  
Old 11-23-16, 08:11 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,785
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts
call the installer... you should have some type of warranty only being installed the summer
 
  #8  
Old 11-23-16, 08:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
I can see your return and the draw offs which isn't ideal but you can use your zone valves as shutoffs. Turn off the boiler so they don't call and they're 100% shut offs. The supplies in this case because your just bleeding will not matter because with the ZV's closed water cannot get in to those zones. Down the line though you're going to have problems the way that is piped.
It looks like you might need 2 people because of the location of the feed valve.
You want to manually open the feed valve, lift up the lever to about 25PSI or so but under 30 and then open your draw off on your bad zone and force the air out. Then reset to between 15 and 20 PSI.
Hope this helps.
 
  #9  
Old 11-23-16, 08:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 61
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great advice. Worked like a charm. I assume the problems you talk about will come when having to work on the system down the road as to the ease of isolating issues should they arise.
 
  #10  
Old 11-24-16, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,698
Upvotes: 0
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, when changing the pump or a complete ZV if the occasion arises but that's in the future. On a side note you have that 3/4" pipe coming off the top of the boiler that looks likes it capped. That was made to put an automatic air vent like the one you have on your air scoop to help get rid of the air in the boiler if need be.
Happy Thanksgiving.
SKIP
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: