Baxi Ht380 losing pressure

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-16, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Baxi Ht380 losing pressure

I have a Baxi HT380 that has run perfectly for 6 years. Last year the pressure relief valve(PRV) was tripped and the system dumped lots of water on my floor as it did not reseat properly. I replaced the PRV with an exact replacement and called by Baxi plumber to troubleshoot...Problem is that it regularly trips PRV and dribbles some water and eventually loses pressure and shuts off. I add water and raise the pressure through the pressure reducer and repeat as necessary. Plumber played with system for an hour and charged me $250.00. It ran for 2 days and then repeated problem.
I tried replacing pressure reducer, upping reducer pressure, lowering pressure reducer, adding pressure to Baxi expansion tank as suggested by plumber after I told him his fix didn't work. Reduced pressure in Baxi expansion tank, etc.

Does anyone have a clear understanding of what might be wrong?
Also what pressure should Baxi expansion tank be set?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-16, 05:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Baxi Luna HT380 losing pressure

If it helps the pressure gauge must be at least in the middle of the 1 Green area before the E119 error goes away
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-16, 07:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,880
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
The expansion tank is likely waterlogged. There is a "sticky" on this forum that discusses this problem.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-16, 03:46 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 397
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, gauge may not be accurate. There's another sticky about that at the top of the message list. Steve
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-16, 05:49 AM
poorplmbr's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: long island ,new york
Posts: 296
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Baxi HT380

Absolutely the internal expansion tank..I deal with them on a weekly basis here on Long Island. Either the pressure tank needs to be re-pressurized or an external one needs to be added.You can not simply add pressure to the expansion tank without first getting the boiler pressure to zero.
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-16, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK I attempted to unflood the expansion tank. Everything is working now, but time will tell. Thanks for the advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: