DHW Tank depletes quickly

Reply

  #41  
Old 12-21-16, 05:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 178
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Called Bosch, they cant help me unless I have a "professional" with me due to liability issues. I couldn't even speak with tech support just to ask them some questions....
 
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 12-21-16, 06:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you have gas why not just install a 50 gallon gas water heater and be done with this headache. You will probably also save money in the summer by not having to run a boiler to heat your water.
 
  #43  
Old 12-21-16, 06:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 178
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Isn't indirect more efficient than a direct gas fired water heater? I just spent a lot of money to get this system, why would I change it all ready? It should be working the way it is intended. I was told a 30 gal tank would be plenty of hot water for a family of 3.
 
  #44  
Old 12-21-16, 06:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your 30 is on the smaller side, but should still be plenty.

I missed the photos in the album... if you can take a few more or repost without the gps location, that might be helpful, I'd like to see if your Bosch was plumbed and wired how my wall-mounted Buderus was when I moved in.

What does the sensor on the side of the indirect look like?
Is it a wire that runs straight back to the Bosch?
Does it have a metal box on the side of the tank (honeywell or similar)?
Does it connect through a zone control (taco or similar)?

-Jesse
 
  #45  
Old 12-21-16, 07:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 178
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removed GPS info, see link for album

https://goo.gl/photos/ijnave5GiVjFcCqT9
 
  #46  
Old 12-21-16, 07:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
can't quite see the wiring for the DHW sensor, but it looks like it is probably correct.

on my buderus, at least one of the knobs on the front for setting the temperatures is ignored when the advanced control is installed... you have an FW-200 which seems to have its own programming for both heat and hot water temperatures.
here's the guide if you haven't already read it:
http://www.bosch-climate.us/files/20..._FW200-ISM.pdf

page 36 talks about setting the dhw tank temperature in both standard and eco modes, and also lets you set priority vs conditional priority. maybe see how those parameters are set?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: