Water heater 10 gallons120/277

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-16, 02:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Water heater 10 gallons120/277

I connected today 3 water heater 10 gallons. 120 v can't get the hot water . Tried temp .change nothing
I tried conecting 220v and nothing can someone explain
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-16, 02:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,069
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Your post isn't very clear did you hook up 3 separate water heaters or 3 together?
Have you verified you have current at the element?
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-16, 02:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I conected them separately . I do have current flowing. Temp set at max and nothing
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-16, 04:02 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does your water heater have a built-in switch?

Name:  pouheater.jpg
Views: 180
Size:  30.8 KB

If it does, that leans towards 120V.

You should post pictures of the cable you are using and the breakers.
This could be dangerous.

A typical 120V heater requires a dedicated 20amp circuit. You probably need to run 3 separate circuits to each location.
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-16, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have no switch by the connection . I used 12/3 wire. 20 amp braker each.
Could it be that the termostat is not working?
 
  #6  
Old 12-29-16, 05:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 341 Votes on 319 Posts
I connected them separately . I do have current flowing. Temp set at max and nothing
If you had current flowing you'd have heat.

You connected three water heaters to three 20A circuit breakers and not one of them heats the water ?

You said 120/277...... water heaters do NOT work that way. It's either a 120v or a 208/240/277v water heater.
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-16, 05:35 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey Pete!
I deleted my post because the diagram I attached doesn't make complete sense to me, but it might help.

Name:  pouheater2.JPG
Views: 202
Size:  30.3 KB
 
  #8  
Old 12-29-16, 05:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for replying. That's exactly what my heaters show. Could it be that thermostat or the hi temp switch r faulty? I also have a reset button but when I press it it doesn't doo nothing, like gfi make click sound
 
  #9  
Old 12-29-16, 05:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I used 12/3 wire
Should have been 12-2, black and white +ground.
I do have current flowing
You should have tested for voltage with a multimeter or test light. (A non contact tester won't work for testing.)
 
  #10  
Old 12-29-16, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tested it with probes multimeter. It shows 120 v . I I set temp 150 witch is max and nothing
 
  #11  
Old 12-29-16, 06:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 341 Votes on 319 Posts
Brian....you show two diagrams..... other than the color of the wires..... they are basically identical. We know that putting 240v on a 120v element will burn it up.... while putting 120v on a 240v element will yield next to nothing.

So the heater voltage needs to be determined to effectively connect it.
The box would not say on it 120v/277v. It would have a voltage selected.
 
  #12  
Old 12-29-16, 06:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok I see what u saying . The reasone why I'm confused is . On the when I look up the instructions it says. I quote "Standard single element 120v and 277 v ", and the diagram that is posted
 
  #13  
Old 12-29-16, 06:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 341 Votes on 319 Posts
The diagram is the same but the element is not.
The voltage is usually stamped on the nut part of the element.
 
  #14  
Old 12-29-16, 06:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank u for clearing that . Now I connected 120 . I get 120 in the unit, temp is set to 150 f . No hot water runing
 
  #15  
Old 12-29-16, 07:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Disconnect the wires from the element and check the resistance. If it is open you brobably burned it up when you,
tried conecting 220v
 
  #16  
Old 12-29-16, 07:23 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I somehow knew that you could answer that Pete.


WATER HEATERS EQUIPPED FOR ONE VOLTAGE ONLY:
This water heater is equipped for one type voltage only.
Check the rating plate near the bottom access panel for
the correct voltage. DO NOT use this water heater with
any voltage other than the one shown on the model rating
plate. Failure to use the correct voltage can cause problems
which can result in death , serious bodily injury , or
property damage
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: