Weil Mclain Ultra 155- Iso relay between zone valves & controller

Old 01-13-17, 02:27 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Weil Mclain Ultra 155- Iso relay between zone valves & controller

Hi,
I have bought Weil McLain Ultra 155 and planning to install boiler with help if local plumber. I have figured out most of the installation to make sure it is installed correctly but I have limited knowledge to relays.

Per installation Manual on page 79 (http://www.weil-mclain.com/sites/def...a-manual_1.pdf)
"Use isolating relays if using 3-wire zone valves
to avoid damage and nuisance problems due
to stray voltage"
I have DWH along with baseboard heat all using zone valves instead of circulation pumps for zoning. Above statement applies to my setup but I am not sure what exact Relay I should use and if anyone can provide me link of any product and possible wiring to wire zone valve with relay. I do have wiring schematic with my boiler which is very simple.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-13-17, 04:58 PM
Group Moderator
Received 474 Votes on 444 Posts
The standard diagram is on the left. Normally you would just use the red and white (Rh & W) wires. The green is if you need a C wire for a smart thermostat.

The green is referenced to the transformer that runs the zone valves. If you connected those two TT wires to the boiler.... you could have interaction between the two transformers.

The relay isolates the two transformer. Any 24vac NO (normally open) relay will work.

Name:  Taco - Copy.jpg
Views: 3516
Size:  26.8 KB

Old 01-13-17, 05:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I would reconsider. If you use zone valves & the circulator pump dies, the entire house will be cold. However, if you have a pump for each zone & one pump fails, you can always move to another part of the house.

Old 01-13-17, 07:07 PM