Boiler on then off

Old 01-27-17, 10:04 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler on then off

I have an ancient Burnham boiler from the 50s. New pump and motor, t stat, oil drum, filter and line. The problem I'm having is it will run fine for a while and then every now and then after it shuts off it will kick back on after a couple seconds. Every once in a while it will trip the reset button on the ignition module. Pressure runs between 10-18lbs,. Temp 140_160. I'm no pro but reasonably handy. Any guesses to what's going on? I did buy a new ignition module and CAD eye I just need the time to install them. Right now I'm working seven days a week. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks. Jason.

Old 01-28-17, 06:26 AM
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
It could be a bad solder connection on the module,,I had a simular problem years ago,depending on the module you maybe able to separate the board from the 4"sq cover and have a look.
Geo

Old 01-28-17, 09:38 AM
R
Just replaced the ignition module and noticed the pipe on the circulator pump was leaking onto the ignition module. Guessing this is why I was getting air in the system and possibly shorting things out. I tightened the connection down, replaced the module and placed a freezer bag over the new module until I'm sure the leak has stopped. I did not replace the CAD eye. I may call a guy if this doesn't work because I just don't have a lot of time. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The local guy I called last time to do a maintenance service did not impress.

Thanks. Jason.

Old 01-28-17, 10:18 AM
S
Do you have zone valves? Had a similar issue and it was the zone valve switch.

Old 01-28-17, 10:26 AM
R
No zones, just a continuous loop around the house.

Old 01-28-17, 02:49 PM
When you have some spare time you could try and take the module apart and have a look inside just to see if there was an H2O damage or bad solder connection.

Old 01-28-17, 05:09 PM
R
Sure.
Hoping that solves it.