Ecobee thermostats on hydronic system

Old 01-29-17, 07:45 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ecobee thermostats on hydronic system

So I have a very similar setup with 5 zones and plan to put 3 new Ecobee thermostats in. I don't know where to connect the C-wire to either. I'm attaching a schematic of my setup - tried connecting to the C side of my 24V transformer - but the Ecobee kept restarting. They are telling me I need a transformer and relay per thermostat. Is that really true? Please help PJ!

Current Setup:
Name:  CURRENT.jpg
Views: 1337
Size:  27.4 KB

I also was reading some other threads and think that if I just reverse the W and the Rh Wires at the thermostats then I can run the C wire to the currently installed Transformer (but I'm not an expert and need some help). I think that the reason that the Ecobee was restarting was something to do with phase with the current setup...

Proposed new diagram:
Name:  PROPOSED.jpg
Views: 1564
Size:  29.0 KB

Old 01-29-17, 08:06 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I moved you to your own thread. The other one was too long and involved.

Yes..... your second picture will work.
However.... I would recommend an immediate transformer upgrade to a 24v 75va type.

amazon/product/B008HOVEGU/transformer
Honeywell also offers a similar model

Old 01-29-17, 08:13 PM
R
Cool. My only concern is that ecobee customer support is saying that I need to get isolation relays and a transformer for each of the thermostats, I don't need to do that right? I just don't want to ruin anything...

Also, The reason that the wiring is not ok in the first diagram is because the Rh needs to run straight to the R on the transformer I'm assuming, just confused as to why it functions without the C-wire as is?

Lastly, and thank you so much for the help ... the reason you're recommending I upgrade transformer is just based on the load that I have with 5 Zone valves and all the smart stats right?